MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Archive for June 27th, 2008

A Missed Connection, and VACATION

with 8 comments

So, back in 2007, there was an open submission period for this anthology called Missed Connections edited by Julia Wertz (of The Fart Party fame). The theme of the book was both simple and imaginative: look up some Missed Connections posts on Craigslist, find one that called to you, and illustrate it however you pleased. Sounded like fun so I gave it a shot. I searched and searched and then drew and drew and then, when push came to shove and the deadline loomed nearer, I got scared and never submitted the thing. Yes, I rejected myself. One day I’ll do a post on why this is a big no-no (as well as a major hurdle) and how it applies to both the art field and the writing field, but for now I’ll just say that I didn’t think I had what it took and rather than be told that by someone I admire I just sat in the dark and pretended like I never put pencil to paper in the beginning. Okay, enough of me talking here, this is what I did (excuse the bad scanning job):

Yeah, so that’s that. I apologize for the lack of MyLifeComics this week, but I hope you’ve enjoyed Tara’s guest comic, the small taste of The Zane Lane, and the above work of art. I promise to return with a bundle of comics about Bitsy winning at Scrabble, D doing battle with Murphy’s Law, and Momma Dukes pounding back some wine like a true champion. Plus, girlfriend moments! All I ask is that a seagull doesn’t shit on my head again. So yes, for now, this is where I’m heading to and I couldn’t be more excited:

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s all right
Little darling it’s been a long cold lonely winter
Little darling it feels like years since it’s been here

– “Here Comes the Sun” by The Beatles

Written by Paul

June 27, 2008 at 12:00 am