MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#231 – Unseen Movies

with 18 comments

It’s true. I believe there’s a good reason, too, but that’ll all be explained in another comic…in the future. Anyways, feel free to tell me why it sucks–or why it doesn’t–to have missed some of these. I know most of the iconic images associated with them, just never seen the whole things.

Oh, and though this might scare off a couple of readers, I’ll live on the edge: I saw Star Wars IV, V, and VI when I was 23. Meaning…last January. How’s that for deprived?

EDIT: I guess I added Rocky twice. That’s how much I’ve never seen it! Huzzah!

Written by Paul

November 8, 2007 at 9:33 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i have never seen any of these………oh wait……..i remember now. I HATE going to the movies!!!!!

    Mere

    November 8, 2007 at 9:37 am

  2. I think the last two films you saw were Lucky Number Slevin (gah!) and Finding Nemo (yay!). 😛

    Paul

    November 8, 2007 at 9:40 am

  3. Hmmm – We all must be related or something – I have never seen any of the godfathers, star wars, alien movies. nor have I seen space balls, monty python, airplane, and a bazillion of the one you listed. though i have seen some you haven’t seen and that makes me somewhat SMUG, though I can’t really explaine why.

    PS – I had bought casablanca a few years ago and never watched it. So, at x-mas time, Boyo, we can watch it together!! With Mere, too.

    Bitsy

    November 8, 2007 at 10:09 am

  4. You must see Say Anything and Mystic River. Traffic was good, too. You should probably see Pulp Fiction just to be in the know but it wasn’t for me. Happy viewing.

    dlabbamondi

    November 8, 2007 at 10:09 am

  5. lotsa typos today – ooops

    Bitsy

    November 8, 2007 at 10:09 am

  6. Bitsy: Yay for typos! I want to watch Doogal again! Er, no wait…I mean the one with the singing L’il Red Riding Hood! RUN!

    D: I assume I’d like Say Anything very much, as it has JC in it and to me, he’s a demi-god.

    Paul

    November 8, 2007 at 10:27 am

  7. Okay, Paul. Unless you are blind and can’t actually see a movie, I just might need to boycott your blog. You’ve never seen these?

    Okay, breathe Neil, breathe.

    Count to 10.

    Okay, let’s hit the highlights before I hit the roof.

    It’s a Wonderful Life – Jimmy Stewart is a great actor and this is a MUST SEE for Christmas. Don’t waste time by watching it on TV or in color. Get the DVD and watch it. You’ll like the dance floor that covers a pool best.

    Die Hard – Another Christmas movie (believe it or not). Just take your shoes and socks off, put the DVD in, and make fists with your toes. And don’t forget the Twinkies.

    Okay, now that I’ve got that out of my system, I’ve looked over the list again and realized the rest are no big deal. Until we get to Star Wars ANH, ESB, and ROTJ. I’ll cut you a little slack that you’re part of that younger generation that doesn’t realize how classic the movies are. You were a teenager when they were re-released in the 90s. So it would be like me never seeing American Graffiti (I have mind you, I even own it).

    Gah. Do me a favor. Stop reading this and go watch one or two of these.

    TK42ONE

    November 8, 2007 at 10:32 am

  8. Heh, see? HEADS EXPLODE. 😛

    Oh, and I’ve never seen American Graffiti either. Er, truth be told, this is my first hearing of it. I live in a cave.

    Paul

    November 8, 2007 at 10:38 am

  9. I have to side with TK42ONE…you may need to stop writing, blogging, and drawing long enough to take some of these movie issues under control!

    Many of the “classics” on your list I feel you can skip (although I’m sure the next idiot will have the complete opposite opinion…so that makes it hard to trust this idiot…by that I mean me). However, Swingers, LA Confidential, Pulp Fiction, Traffic, TAXI DRIVER, and 2001: A SPACE ODESSEY, must be remedied IMMEDIATELY.

    Gangs of New York is terrible and can be skipped (as well as Roxanne, Porky’s, Cocoon, Titanic, Heavenly Creatures and a few others on there) and while a lot of the horror you’ve got listed there is classic it can be skipped if necessary as well…not like it’s the best movies ever or anything…unless you’re a super horror fan. If you’ve seen Alien then you’ve see the best there is to offer (though I really do like the whole Alien series). I would get on you about The Godfather trilogy…but glass houses and stones…I only recently saw these…TOTALLY WORTH IT THOUGH…great films.

    I find Casablanca, Citizen Cane, It’s A Wonderful Life, Rainman, Mystic River, Scarface, and Blade Runner to all be pretty over-rated, but you might want to see them so people don’t throw stuff at ya.

    The Crow is one of my favorite movies of all time, but that’s a really personal one, it’s not for everyone, and if I’m honest, except for Brandon’s Lee’s performance (I find him an amazing presence) it doesn’t seem to stand up well over time.

    Great comic today by the way…way to get people riled up. 🙂

    1979semifinalist

    November 8, 2007 at 10:54 am

  10. Biff – it is not RUN! it is RRRRRUUUUUUNNNNN! And it’s Hoodwinked. I might watch it tonight in fact.

    Bitsy

    November 8, 2007 at 12:00 pm

  11. 1979semifinalist said:
    “The Crow is one of my favorite movies of all time, but that’s a really personal one, it’s not for everyone, and if I’m honest, except for Brandon’s Lee’s performance (I find him an amazing presence) it doesn’t seem to stand up well over time.”

    I feel like I just found a friend! Please don’t run away…I’m really not some lurker desperate for companionship but,

    I agree with everything you said about The Crow except that last bit about it not standing up well over time. It is one of my fav movies primarily because of Brandon Lee. I’m an even bigger fan of his daddy, though.

    Trina

    November 8, 2007 at 1:07 pm

  12. Trina – it is hard to find people that agree that The Crow is a great movie. I’ve gotten into many arguments over this movie over the years. And I should have been more clear about “doesn’t stand up well over time” – it’s still a great film, I can just see more flaws in it now than I did as a 17 year old in love with Brandon Lee.

    I’m not going anywhere…good to meet you 🙂
    kelly

    1979semifinalist

    November 8, 2007 at 2:39 pm

  13. Ok…some snowy weekend we’re locking ourselves away in PA and watching some movies. Don’t forget about “Priscilla Queen of the Desert” (no more fucking Abba). I think I’m the only person with a uterus who has never seen Titanic…

    Pamalamadingdong

    November 8, 2007 at 11:17 pm

  14. I request lots of hot chocolate then! Or that minty alcohol thingy Tom made!

    Priscilla Queen of the Desert is about drag queens, right? Bring it on!

    Paul

    November 8, 2007 at 11:25 pm

  15. I wish I could have been a drag queen…I’m female but don’t have the fashion sense or the long legs. Ok. Lots of nice warm drinks and wine AND cheesy things and popcorn. Can’t wait!!!! What shall we watch first???

    Pamalamadingdong

    November 9, 2007 at 12:06 am

  16. Lock, stock and two smoking barrels

    It is funny!

    Vimal Samuel

    November 9, 2007 at 12:30 am

  17. Got it…LOVE it. Personally I think it’s much better than Snatch.. We’ve also already shown Paulie with Kung Fu Hustle (another all time favorite).

    Pamalamadingdong

    November 9, 2007 at 12:58 am

  18. I’m ready when you are, PAM!

    Oh, oh, oh I’ve seen Snatch before! D’you like dawgs? Whu? DAWGS? D’you like dawgs? Oh…dogs. Yeah, I like dogs.

    Paul

    November 9, 2007 at 9:41 am


Leave a Reply

