MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Pre-Cana Marriage Classes and the Awkward Questions

with 8 comments

For those that don’t know (and that’s probably many considering the whopping two paragraphs on Wikipedia), Pre-Cana is a number of courses that allow a couple to get married in the Catholic church. Sometimes the classes can stretch over three weekends, but Tara and I knocked it out in one big gulp last Saturday. It was…all right. A little awkward at times (see above), and my biggest gripe with the whole deal was that the instructors already assumed you and your future spouse fought and had many deep, problematic issues to work out from the get-go. That’s not the case with Tara and I. I’m peanut butter, she’s chocolate; we complement each other greatly, and nothing can stop us. But then when you tell them this, it’s still something negative because it’s not good to not fight ever…or some silliness like that. To each his own, I guess.

But yeah, we survived eight hours of Pre-Cana and even got to have mass in the chapel we’re getting married in. It was nice. My head didn’t explode there.

I believe in you even through the tears and the laughter
I believe in you even though we be apart
I believe in you even on the morning after

– “I Believe In You” by Bob Dylan

Written by Paul

February 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, yeah….

    Kind of nuts, I’d say, but at least we got it taken care of and we won’t have to worry about it.

    Yeah, it is silly that they just assume that everyone fights all the time. We don’t fight, and even if we do disagree about something it’s usually something ridiculously small–like, “I don’t like Milk, ew milk!” 😉 which was later broken by us meowing at each other.

    Granted, later on, there will be disagreements, but I think we know how to handle them, and we handle them differently than most folks. Mewww. They were trying to say that fighting is GOOD, and if you don’t fight something is wrong with you. I suppose we are just better communicators. Om nom.

    Tara

    February 18, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    • Meowww. May all our disagreements be resolved with meowing!

      Hey, remember how much fun that finance course was? SO MUCH FUN. ❤

      Paul

      February 18, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      • Oh man, that made me scared to breathe. Yikes. Ick. That was a bad thing to end on, for sure.

        Tara

        February 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    • My fiance and I have known one another since we were chidlren and are 40 years old. We can’t wait for the talk about why we should stay virgins and how we should plan to have our family using natural birth control.

      RR

      March 24, 2010 at 10:28 pm

  2. Sounds like a blast, you two! Geez.

    bitsy

    February 20, 2010 at 12:53 am

  3. […] (source) […]

  4. Actually completely happy I came across this blog post. It was extremely useful. In any case, I was questioning what type of theme you are using? I like the colors as a result of they mix so good. Properly, keep up the good articles and I’ll come back. I’m absolutely going to inform others about this.

    halloween party

    August 12, 2011 at 4:50 am

  5. I think pre-cana is one of the best premarital courses..why are you making fun of it . You guys may be great communicators..but there are lots of couples who are not

    jacob

    November 19, 2012 at 9:38 pm


Leave a comment