MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Forever LOST

with 4 comments

I have now watched the LOST series finale twice, and I have to say that, overall, I am satisfied with its ending. But only because I am adding my own ending details to it. Spoilers ahead, but I’m sure you all knew that anyway.

See, I get what they did. They pulled the rug out from under us one last time, showing us an alternate universe for an entire season that was not so much alternate as it was imaginary. They are dead. They all died. It was going to happen anyway, given time and all, and we’re given a glimpse of them all finally coming together, one last hurrah, to move on elsewhere. It’s emotionally satisfying in that love and peace and friendship is what they wanted most, and they found that on the island, together, each in their own way.

My theory is simple. Jacob, as protector of the island, had powers. He gave Richard immortality, he traveled off the island to touch each of his candidates, thus ensuring their safety until Oceanic 815 crashed. Jacob’s mother also had powers. And if Jack had lasted a bit longer, I’m sure he would’ve discovered some too. This brings me to Hurley. He was told to do what he has always done: take care of people. And Hurley is no Jacob, with Ben passing along the idea that maybe there’s a different way to run things. So my idea is this, and this is why I’m okay with everything; Hurley used his powers as the island’s protector to give all his friends this shared sub-conscious world to live in after death before moving on.

Did I want more plot answers than people answers? Sure. What was up with the Dharma Initiative, and why were they so interested in kidnapping children? Why were some people in the church and not others? Penny was there, but she wasn’t an Oceanic crasher. So why wasn’t Miles and Lepidus there, or Faraday and Charlotte? How did Kate’s horse get on the island if the Smoke Monster could only take the form of the locally dead? Were the numbers really cursed or just ironic and things to be caught by hardcore viewers? Was the sickness real or just Smokey infecting people’s minds?

I could go on…

But it’s over. There’s no more chances, no more hints. It is going to be weird tonight to not watch a new episode, to not get a wee bit closer to unraveling one of TV’s greatest mysteries. Sigh.

But thanks for everything, LOST. I’ll see you in another life.

Written by Paul

May 25, 2010 at 10:34 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aweeeesome. I’d say that’s probably how it happened, and that’s how we want to think it happened regardless of what people tell us…

    Very nice, I see that you are getting the hang of the tablet! Keep working at it! 🙂

    Tara

    May 25, 2010 at 12:04 pm

  2. Good god! I am confused just reading that last paragraph. Phew!

    bitsy

    May 26, 2010 at 1:00 am

    • I will tell you the entire story of LOST over some salmon cake when you are home in July.

      Paul

      May 26, 2010 at 10:34 am


Leave a comment