MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#304 – Projectile Vomit

with 13 comments

I don’t know if many of you can tell, but the artwork above should look quite different from all previous comics. Why is that? Well, for one I learned the proper way to scan in line art. See, I was just scanning it in at 72 dpi, not really caring much or thinking it mattered. This time, however, I put the artwork in at 300 dpi, colored it at that size, and then re-sized the whole thing for the Web. I dunno. The lines and colors seem to be sharper. Eh, maybe this is just stuff I notice…

I was flipping the channels last night momentarily before I started to write, and a show caught my attention. Not in a good way. It’s a game show, where kids compete with their fathers to prove to each other who has the best pappy around. I don’t know. This seems…wrong. Are television viewers this desperate for tears and entertainment? I couldn’t keep it on for very long. Already I found it to be overtly dramatic and pointless.

You know what show used to kick butt? That really put kids up to challenges that, even if they didn’t win, wouldn’t slap a boulder-sized backpack of emotional scarring on them now that their father hated them for losing embarrassingly on national television? That’d be: What Would You Do?

Dang, early 1990s TV ruled.

Written by Paul

March 11, 2008 at 8:43 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My wife commented that the My Dad is better than your Dad show was a lot like the Double Dare shows on Nik. Hard for me to relate as I never had cable as a kid. Woe is me.

    And yes, the 300 dpi does appear to be much nicer. I’d keep it there.

    TK42ONE

    March 11, 2008 at 9:45 am

  2. Keep working in hi-res. Much easier when you get all your volumes published!

    Pamalamadingdong

    March 11, 2008 at 10:00 am

  3. TK: Yeah, I think the My Dad is Better Than Your Dad is trying to capture that innocence of father-child game shows, but it is pushing too much on failure to be enjoyable. Glad you noticed the change in art as well.

    PAM: Exactly! I figure, you know, maybe one day these might be nice compiled into a book. I shall continue from here on out at hi-res quality…

    Paul

    March 11, 2008 at 10:03 am

  4. I think the new art looks great. Much sharper. Nice work.

    1979semifinalist

    March 11, 2008 at 10:04 am

  5. Yes! I love comics about me! Except that you have highlighted one of the most vile moments of my life.
    Redd came yesterday and I got you a ranch dresser. Good times. 4 more days until Spring Break. Woo hoo!

    Bitsy

    March 11, 2008 at 10:37 am

  6. Kelly: Thanks! Glad to hear it.

    Bitsy: Contrarily, that might’ve been the most rewarding moments of my life. Yay for ranch dresser! I totally didn’t play at all again yesterday. Olivia moved out. 😦 😦 😦

    She was my friend with benefits! 😦

    Paul

    March 11, 2008 at 11:05 am

  7. DoubleDare was the Best!!!

    D

    March 11, 2008 at 12:56 pm

  8. Olivia just moved in to my town. Ha!

    Bitsy

    March 11, 2008 at 1:34 pm

  9. Thief! Return her unto me immediately or I shall banish thee to the Badlands!

    Paul

    March 11, 2008 at 2:36 pm

  10. As I was looking at the comic, I was thinking how much sharper it was. And then I read that you thoguht it was sharper. So if I noticed, then it must be true. : )
    Also, speaking as a teacher, we get get thrown up on. It’s one of the perks.

    Lisa

    March 11, 2008 at 4:45 pm

  11. I never want to be a teacher. Kids are gross beings.

    Paul

    March 11, 2008 at 10:20 pm

  12. Nice change, the stretching of your line work is much less noticeable. Now all you need to do is finally get into the 21st century and switch to a Wacom tablet!

    tgjason

    March 12, 2008 at 3:33 am

  13. HA!

    I’ve been using a Wacom tablet since the very first comic strip here. I guess it doesn’t show. 😦

    Paul

    March 12, 2008 at 8:41 am


Leave a comment