MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Supertowned myself

with 3 comments

supertownme

Listen, people. I gotta be honest here. If there’s one thing that I’d like to achieve in this eat-sleep-work life of mine, it’s that one day someone will draw something–a picture, a comic, a sketch, anything–in my style. And people will recognize it as such. As they say, imitation is the greatest form of flattery.

I have influences, many influences, but it’d be hard to know who by specifically looking at my work. I look to Bill Amend for color, I look to Bill Watterson for minute details in the background, I look to Gary Larson for the offbeat humor, I admire the craziness that is Robert Crumb, and I can’t deny the simple prowess that is perspective in Charles Schultz’s work. These are artists that have shaped me growing up–and even if I can’t see their guidance in my work, maybe others can. I don’t know. I just draw how I draw.

Maybe Supertown will be the ball that starts rolling. Only time will tell.

You remain turned away
Turning further every day

– “The World Has Turned and Left Me Here” by Weezer

Written by Paul

September 9, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Posted in artwork, comics, dreams, musings

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha, I’m sure there will be a bunch who will imitate your style darling ❤

    I can't wait until you start posting these comics. I can only hope you'll supertown ME! :]

    Tara

    September 9, 2009 at 10:49 pm

  2. And of course it had to be green. Looking good (despite the lack of arms and legs).

    TK42ONE

    September 10, 2009 at 9:13 am

  3. Love it, super Paull!

    D

    September 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm


Leave a Reply

