MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

That’s All, Folks

with 28 comments

…for now.

I’m going to keep this short. Real short, actually. I’ll be taking a break from MyLifeComics, and I’m not talking about merely a few days off. Fortunately (take notice that I didn’t say unfortunately there), I’m no longer in a place in my life where I can devote the time and passion it takes to do a daily webcomic. And so we shall part, for now, as I’m sure to return at some point down the road. These things are inevitable.

Thank you, dear readers, for following along with me over the past two years. Your comments and support have meant the world to me, especially those from Tara, Bitsy, D, TK42ONE, Kelly, Trina, and many others.

If you’re interested in keeping tabs on me, there’s always deviantART and LiveJournal and Twitter and a slew of other places you can stalk me at. Do your worst.

For those reaching for the box of tissues, just remember this: we only part to meet again.

Excuse the bitching, I shouldn’t complain
I should have no feeling, cause feeling is pain
As everything I need is denied to me
And everything I want is taken away from me
But who do I got to blame?
Nobody but me

– “The Good Life” by Weezer

Written by Paul

March 3, 2009 at 7:58 pm

Posted in comics, life, mylifecomics, news

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aww such a heartfelt “until then”.

    Of course, and I have other ways to stalk you also. Bwhahaha. NO seriously, I wouldn’t stalk you–cause I don’t have to. Everyone should check this out http://fortuitoustwist.smackjeeves.com/
    every once in a while because it’s possible that it will begin to update again : ]

    That should hold me over, for the time being. Nom.

    Tara

    March 3, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    • Ugh..stupid links…cut off half of what I said…

      Anyway, I said while I enjoy this, I’m also happy that you will be getting a lot of other stuff done, too. More writing and drawing and so on. It’s bittersweet, but I’ll live. :]

      Tara

      March 3, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    • Thanks, darling! And yup, I’ll probably now have the time to get back into Fortuitous Twist. It’s all still bouncing around in my skull (as are countless other ideas).

      Paul

      March 3, 2009 at 10:22 pm

  2. Ah well. Good luck to you.

    Arlene

    March 3, 2009 at 8:14 pm

  3. I’ll miss it for sure!! Where’s our final My Life Comic episode like Seinfeld? Pretty pleasssssssssssseeeeeeeeeeee.

    D

    March 3, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    • Sorry, this one’s gonna be just like a Band-Aid. Right off!

      But here’s my Jerry Seinfeld impression:

      “What’s the deal with Band-Aids? I mean, what bands are they actually aiding? The Painful Papercuts?”

      Thank you, thank you.

      Paul

      March 3, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  4. As Luke said to his father: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Well, this too shall pass or something like that. It’s good to see things moving in the right direction for you, even if that means I now have no comics. Between you and Kelly, my inkwell of comics is now dry.

    Oh, and please, no Seinfeld finale. That ruined the whole series for me.

    TK42ONE

    March 3, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    • Looks like this is your chance to take over a niche field. Bring back your comics! You know you wanna.

      Paul

      March 3, 2009 at 10:25 pm

  5. Paul,
    You dont know me and I normally lurk… but I have followed you almost as long as my son (TK) has. I just want to say I have enjoyed your comics, the art, the humor, and YOU. I wish you nothing but the best in all you do.

    Gayle

    Gayle

    March 3, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  6. Paul, they made me smile, especially when combined with your announcements on Twitter. (“Coloring today’s comic. Hitler’s totally in it. That’s how I roll now.”)

    Good luck with whatever time-sucker you’re fortunate enough to have.

    Jake Freivald

    March 4, 2009 at 12:46 am

    • Hitler always brings people together. Er, wait…forget that. Thanks for reading, Jake!

      Paul

      March 4, 2009 at 3:32 pm

  7. oh, now there is little hope for a julie chibi. i can only pray….

    bitsy

    March 4, 2009 at 1:21 am

    • Don’t give up the ghost just yet, sister.

      Paul

      March 4, 2009 at 3:33 pm

  8. Hi Paul. Nice to meet you.:) I apologize for my bad English in advance.. I’m so shy that I’m usually lurking here but I’d like to say something today.:) Well, I’ve been here quite a lot, almost everyday, and loved all of your comics. I think there are so many people like me. You are sooo talented! Thank you for all of your work and hope you have a great life!!:)

    Mai from Japan 🙂

    mai

    March 4, 2009 at 9:12 am

    • I love love all the way from Japan! Thanks for reading, Mai.

      Paul

      March 4, 2009 at 11:14 pm

  9. Aww…just when I came back. 😦 Well, good luck to you Paul..I wish you all the best.

    Cas(aka “girly”)

    Cas

    March 4, 2009 at 9:29 am

    • Aw, maybe we’ll see each other in another life when we’re both cats?

      Paul

      March 4, 2009 at 11:14 pm

  10. I haven’t been around much because (fortunately for me, too!) things are picking up some at work. Sounds like things are picking up for you as well (fortunately!)

    Could this be a sign that things will be improving in ’09?

    I know the economic forecast continues to be doom ‘n gloom for this year, but I like to be optimistic and think that we are at least doing something to improve our situation.

    Take care and I wish you well in your endeavors!

    treenieweenie

    March 4, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    • Thanks, Trina! Feel free to email scuba diving photos any time.

      There are many things improving in my and there are many things not improving in my life. I’m just going to focus on one of those for a bit.

      Paul

      March 4, 2009 at 11:16 pm

  11. pauly, even though i didn’t comment much, i always read your comics. i will miss them lots. i especially loved the family ones. But a guy’s gotta do what a guy’s gotta do! talk to you soon.

    mere

    March 4, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    • I will miss drawing your hair. Just kiddin’, Momma Dukes!

      Paul

      March 4, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  12. Bye. I’ll miss you MyLifeComics.

    Have fun with your other stuff Paul.

    Sarah

    March 4, 2009 at 9:36 pm

  13. Ah man, this sucks balls.

    I’m so bummed out. Obviously I get it – you lasted so much longer than I did it’s ridiculous, but I will totally miss your strips.

    Get cracking on that other stuff…and by the by, this doesn’t give you permission to stop coming by 1979 Semi-Finalist… 🙂

    Kelly

    1979semifinalist

    March 6, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    • Oh, I’ll still be around here, hiding the shadows, waiting for my moment to pounce…er, I mean comment. 😛

      Paul

      March 9, 2009 at 4:49 pm

  14. Awwwww! I take off for a couple of weeks and…*sniffle*… it’s gone! Nooooo!

    Nah, just kidding. Stuff happens. It’s a bummer though.

    I’ll see you in Twitter-land. Where yes, it is perfectly fine to profess your love of coffee all the frickin’ time! 😀

    Best wishes to you and yours.

    OkieAnnie

    March 17, 2009 at 5:56 am


Leave a Reply

