MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

The Day of Reckoning and Exchanging Gifts

with 10 comments

2008-12-27

Ah, the return of the great chibi Paul! Between Tara and I, this day was jokingly referred to as the Day of Reckoning. It marks the first time in all my multitudinous relationships that I’ve ever had to do such a thing. You know, have a sitdown with the girlfriend’s father and explain what our relationship is about. Guess I’m an adult now though. Anyways, I had all the symptoms of a nervous soul/creepy neighbor hiding in a van: sweaty palms, uneasy giggle, shifty eyes, flushed face, and so on. But we got through it, for better or for worse.

And then it was time to exchange Christmas gifts:

2008-12-27b

Er, my bad. Also, this might be a bit funnier now that you have the above information. Tears make the holiday, right? 😛

Speak to me, when all you got to keep is strong
Move along, move along like I know you do
And even when your hope is gone
Move along, move along just to make it through

– “Move Along” by The All-American Rejects

Written by Paul

December 27, 2008 at 7:07 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, yes, that was scary–funny that the day of reckoning part 2 just took place a couple of days ago ;]

    Aww, yeah, I can’t believe we got the same gifts!

    I cried like a crazy person, I’m sure my parents were a little worried haha but they both really liked it. It took a couple of weeks but now I can look at it and not cry. 😀 That’s always a good thing 🙂

    Tara

    February 22, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    • Woo, they finally introduced threaded comments to WordPress! 😀 Now I can respond to everyone individually.

      So yeah, the Day of Reckoning. I’d sure say that this one went a helluva lot better than the one that just passed.

      Paul

      February 23, 2009 at 12:53 pm

      • That’s freakin’ sweeeeeeeeet! That makes things SO MUCH EASIER!!!!

        Really though, it didn’t go as bad as it could have gone, I know my dad and he was pretty OK–trust me, this weekend was GOOD.

        Tara

        February 23, 2009 at 1:08 pm

  2. Third Panel Paulie is adorable! and cute! and darling! and sweet! and lovable!

    Aww, Biff! Draw a chibi me! I want one. My birthday is coming up. I want a colored, hand drawn Julie Chibi!

    bitsy

    February 22, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    • What? Your birthday is totally not coming up! It’s like months away. 😛

      Paul

      February 23, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  3. Julie Chibi does yoga and knits! Super Chibi Julie!!!

    bitsy

    February 22, 2009 at 8:53 pm

  4. Uh oh. Gettin’ serious!

    Well, congratulations and condolences all at the same time. Moving in with the girl you love is, well, different. My aged advice to you both is twofold. One, work everything out now (toilet seat up or down, toilet paper on the top or the bottom, who sleeps on what side of the bed, etc.). Two, wait as long as you can for kids. Kids are great, funny, and wonderful. But if you like living life on your own terms, wait. Because when you have them, everything you do is for them, not you.

    Now, go have fun.

    TK42ONE

    February 23, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    • I like this reply thingy!

      Anyways, yes, we got most of the stuff worked out (sleep arrangements, toilet paper placement) we never really talked about toilet seats, but for me it doesn’t really matter–it would only take me a fraction of a second to put the seat back down. No biggie. AND of course, we can barely afford to find a place to live let alone considering children :O

      yeah…that won’t happen for long time. Long, long time.

      Tara

      February 23, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    • FYI, I like the toilet paper to roll from over the top, not under. No hobbity kids…we’d have to buy double the Ramen then! :0

      Paul

      February 23, 2009 at 2:07 pm


Leave a Reply

