MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Finding Out There’s No Jury Duty Produces Mixed Emotions

with 2 comments

2008-12-22

So, back in early November 2008 I received a jury duty summons for the dates of December 23 and December 24. This put me in a big slump because it meant I could do little as to planning how I’d like to spend my holidays and such. Still, everyone assured me that there would be no way in Mordor that a trial would actual be set for the holiday week. I shrugged and said I had to wait until the 22nd to call in and see what was what.

As you can see, the call went in my favor. No jury duty…for ANYONE. The courthouse shut down for the remainder of December. I’m pretty sure they knew they’d do this for some time so why make everyone wait until the last minute possible to alert them. Gah. The system makes no sense to me.

Until next time, jury duty. Until next time.

And we could pretend it all the time
Can’t you see that it’s just raining
Ain’t no need to go outside

– “Banana Pancakes” by Jack Johnson

Written by Paul

December 22, 2008 at 7:25 pm

Posted in cell phone, comics, world

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, they could have told you prior, like in the beginning of December. Then again, what do you expect. The Jersey judicial system. Yum.

    Anyway–at least you didn’t have to go in! That’s always a relief. Maybe one day I’ll actually get summoned.

    Tara

    February 10, 2009 at 8:11 pm

  2. I’m up on March 12th. I’ve never served before, but considering I will unemployed by then, it looks like this is finally my time. Actually, it’s pretty cool because they pay you (some measly amount) and apparently you can still claim unemployment while getting paid for jury duty…so double money from the government!

    While still doing my civic duty of course.

    1979semifinalist

    February 12, 2009 at 2:43 pm


Leave a Reply

