MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Trying to X-mas Shop on a Sunday Afternoon

with 5 comments

2008-12-141

Anyone that knows me knows this: I’m a patient man hobbit. Yet, in this world of ours, there are a few things that I can’t handle and one of them in particular is parking lots during the holiday buying season. It’s just so…unmanageable. Chaotic might be an even more apt word. People are just the rudest then, jetting forward in their cars to snatch up any free rectangle-shaped space with no regard for those that were there first, blinker at the ready. I even saw some cars double-parking, which is awful for all.

It’s amazing we don’t read more newspaper headlines in December like “Man Shot One Hundred and Three Times After Stealing Soccer Mom’s Spot” or “Target Indeterminately Shut Down, Too Much Blood.”

But I learned my lesson. From now on, if I do have to get some X-mas shopping done, I’m going out Tuesday nights after 11:00 p.m. Granted, no stores will be open then…but at least I’ll get a good parking spot.

I’m making the difference
It just seems pointless
With all the obvious lines all out of focus
Why can’t you just be happy
Why can’t you just be happy

– “One-Eighty by Summer” by Taking Back Sunday

Written by Paul

December 14, 2008 at 10:06 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha, yeah, it figures. It’s even worse when I’m trying to find a spot considering I have to work! Such a pain in the ass, and I wind up being late because of it. Bleh.

    Everyone will just have to suffice with home made gifts this year.

    Tara

    January 30, 2009 at 10:35 am

  2. Mmm, yeah, I’m glad I don’t work at the mall and such. Especially during the holidays. Cah-ray-zee.

    See you tonight, Cylon!

    Paul

    January 30, 2009 at 10:55 am

  3. And we come around again to why I do most of my shopping online. Otherwise I would BE that person shooting someone 103 times…orobably what would happen is that I would karate kick TK42ONE and steal his gun and just unload. Of course in NYC the problem is not about the parking spaces, but there are plenty of other horrors and you are so right that everyone is just at their most rude and selfish across the board.

    Also, “Target Indeterminately Shut Down, Too Much Blood” – HILARIOUS.

    1979semifinalist

    January 30, 2009 at 11:37 am

  4. And I thought everyone was too broke to go shopping due to the crappy economy.

    treenieweenie

    January 31, 2009 at 2:55 pm

  5. Kelly: Violence is always the answer. 😛

    Trina: Well, I’m broke, but when it comes to holiday shopping, one must get it done regardless of money woes.

    Paul

    February 2, 2009 at 12:37 pm


Leave a Reply

