MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Christmas Shoppers Are My Tenth Circle of Hell

with 6 comments

2008-12-12

I need to take a lesson from Bitsy and get all my holiday shopping done by the end of summer. The swarms of people is maddening, and this is just another reason why I should live in a small cabin in the woods and not a big-time city full of hustle and bustle. I just don’t like crowds; I can’t concentrate as well, and there’s a cow mentality (moooooo) that just gets under my skin.

Question of the day: What’s your favorite circle of hell from Dante’s Inferno?

Mine would be the Third Circle. Down with gluttons, down with gluttons!

Them stories that you tell me are so hard to swallow
You said “Go to hell” but I know you’d just follow
The future’s closing in quicker than you think
and hanging with you I know why Henry drinks

– “Why Henry Drinks” by Drive-By Truckers

Written by Paul

December 12, 2008 at 11:41 am

Posted in business, comics, death, spending money

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, that was quite the trip, I’d say. Never again! We’ll get our christmas gifts in September. Moving like cattle from store to store is not my way of spending my holidays–and it’s bad enough that I work in the mall.

    Down with the gluttons, indeed.

    Tara

    January 28, 2009 at 11:59 am

  2. I’d say walk tall and people will move around you, but I guess you can’t do that.

    TK42ONE

    January 28, 2009 at 12:08 pm

  3. Couldn’t agree with you more…except maybe it’s even higher up/lower down in the ‘circle of hell’ anaology…

    1979semifinalist

    January 28, 2009 at 1:53 pm

  4. Gluttony and Greed (those would be my circles)- If only I wasn’t overweight and wanting EVERYTHING…

    bitsy

    January 28, 2009 at 6:17 pm

  5. My comment didn’t post – strange.
    My personal circles are greed and gluttony. I want EVERYTHING and that includes food!

    Shopping is annoying during the holidays. I have been known to shop early, get gift cards, and take personal days to beat the crowds. Sometimes, I even knit for lucky individuals.

    Biff has a dinner of knitted sushi to prove it! He may one day merit a scarf, if the monotony of it doesn’t kill me first!

    bitsy

    January 28, 2009 at 7:34 pm

  6. Sorry, they got sent to my spam holding cell and I didn’t notice until this morning.

    Take your time on the scarf. I got a really nice one for X-mas so I’m covered this season. 😀

    Paul

    January 29, 2009 at 10:50 am


Leave a Reply

