MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Cleaning the Gutters is Fun for the Whole Family

with 4 comments

2008-11-27

I’m officially now an expert on the taste of wet pine needles, old leaves, and brown clumps of glob. Thankfully, sometime later, we all had a yummy Thanksgiving dinner, my first since I’ve fallen off the bandwagon and now eat meat like the rest of you animals. The turkey (dark) meat was quite good, but nothing beats Momma Duke’s lumpless mashed potatoes. Her earlier mocking laughter as a shower of crap rained on my head is forgiven for it alone.

Woke up with a bang
And a bug on your face
It crawled in your mouth
And gave you a taste
Of the good life you left behind
But I think you’re gonna be fine

– “Somebody Loves You” by Eels

Written by Paul

November 27, 2008 at 6:58 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aww, I remember doing that when my dad had to clean out the gutters, he kind of just threw it haphazardly also–though I can’t say I’ve eaten any of it. 😉 That brown glob stuff is the worst!

    I can only say this, ‘These mashed potatoes are so creamy!”

    Tara

    January 6, 2009 at 7:16 pm

  2. I will echo with, “These mashed potatoes are so creamy!”

    Paul

    January 6, 2009 at 9:39 pm

  3. Oddly enough, I did the same thing on Christmas day. Although, I was the only one out there. And I had fun playing in my shed. Just wish I had more time to do it.

    TK42ONE

    January 6, 2009 at 9:43 pm

  4. AH! For those mashed potatoes, I would suffer just about anything. And it’s crazy, because she hates to make them. You think that they’d be imbued with all that hate. But nope – they taste better than anything else on that Thanksgiving spread.

    bitsy

    January 7, 2009 at 12:03 am


Leave a Reply

