MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Evil Mail Fairy of Bad News = 1, Me = 0

with 9 comments

2008-11-12

Yes, jury duty time. And the crowd goes wild. I’ve been lucky enough to avoid being called twice before. Once I was away at college, and other time I’d just moved up to North Jersey. This time, however, they’ve really slapped me silly. The dates I’m to serve? December 23 and December 24. One of those is Christmas Eve, people. Can you taste the awesomeness yet?

Family members comfort me with the thought that they probably won’t set a trial over Christmas, but who knows. I’m quite the luck-sucker. So stay tuned…

Also, check out My Life in a Cube for some guest artwork from little ol’ me!

You’ve got the cool water
When the fever runs high
You’ve got the look of lovelight in your eyes
And I was in crazy motion
‘Til you calmed me down
It took a little time
But you calmed me down

– “Something So Right” by Paul Simon

Written by Paul

November 12, 2008 at 7:53 pm

Posted in apartment shtuff, artwork, comics, drama, mail

Tagged with ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmmm–I can’t say I’ve ever encountered the Mail Fairy of Bad News…though I can say that as many times as people have summoned to jury duty, I never do. Perhaps it’s due to the fact that I WANT to. Alas.

    Anyways, my dad, the lawyer, says that you probably won’t have to serve on christmas eve, perhaps only the 23rd you would have to report, and half the time they don’t even need ya, so I hope that you won’t have to go in, cause that would really blow.

    If I could, I would go in your place. ❀

    Tara

    December 12, 2008 at 8:12 pm

  2. Is it snowing on your blog?!

    D

    December 12, 2008 at 10:45 pm

  3. O-O if theres a mail fairy then there must be gnomes in the landry washer and dryer D: sucks though sorry to hear that you got jury duty

    Monica

    December 12, 2008 at 10:55 pm

  4. O-O if theres a mail fairy then there must be gnomes in the landry washer and dryer D: sucks though sorry to hear that you got jury duty

    Monica

    December 12, 2008 at 10:56 pm

  5. woe is you for sure. mere still gets jury duty summons for me in NJ! so yay to that, cause i couldn’t make it.

    bitsy

    December 12, 2008 at 11:01 pm

  6. D: It IS snowing…for a limited time only. πŸ˜›

    Mon: Do the gnomes steal your socks??? :0

    Bitsy: Come back to Jersey! You can have all my jury duty summons, I promise.

    Paul

    December 12, 2008 at 11:47 pm

  7. Tara: You can go for me. Grow a beard and get yourself a pasta gut and you can do it! Thanks in advance. πŸ˜€

    Paul

    December 12, 2008 at 11:49 pm

  8. Love this one. Hilarious. Much more inventive “evil mail fairy” than my literal hatred of my actual mailman who I blame for most of my unfortunate mail…talk about blaming the messenger.

    1979semifinalist

    December 15, 2008 at 11:27 am

  9. […] back in early November 2008 I received a jury duty summons for the dates of December 23 and December 24. This put me in a big slump because it meant I could […]


Leave a Reply

