MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Yet Another Adventure in Ordering Hot Drinks By Accident

with 10 comments

2008-11-09

If you are getting a flash of déjà vu, do not fret. It is true. We flubbed up…for a second time. The drink we ordered this time around is known as the Peppermint Mocha Trio (also, spot the grammar error in the drink’s description and you’ll win an invisible prize!), and of the two versions, the cold one takes the race by a landslide. Something about the hot liquid and the crushed bits of peppermint candy really confuses my tongue.

Anyways, one of the interesting things about doing this journal comic thing is learning that life repeats. Whether it is on the grand scale or the minute one, it happens. You see the same people every day, you do the same things, you eat the same food, you try to mix it up when you can, but for the most part it is all pretty much parallel. Some might not see it, but I do. I find this sort of redundancy funny, amusing even, but I’m not looking forward to having my drink ordered messed up for a third time.

What’s the use in worrying, what’s the use in hurrying
Turn, turn, we almost become dizzy

– “Dancing Nancies” by Dave Matthews Band

Written by Paul

November 9, 2008 at 6:27 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i don’t know—maybe somebodies asked this—but why are you a month behind? Or is it me? Why is my VCR flashing 12? Who am I? (shudder)
    –good stuff sir!–

    Boris

    December 9, 2008 at 7:41 pm

  2. Thanks, Boris. I got very busy and behind on the comics, so I’ve just been posting them one a day because last time I dumped a bunch down in order to catch up people growled and threw tomatoes (not really).

    Paul

    December 9, 2008 at 7:50 pm

  3. Uh Peppermint Mocha Trio?? If it’s only peppermint and mocha, it’s not a trio! Oi.

    As a hot drink it was pretty nasty, but much more refreshing cold, with whipped cream!

    Yes! We did it again! We’re kind of dumb, yes. I agree, there have been a few times in this comic where things have happened at least twice. Maybe not in the same way, but clearly there is a redundancy that is noticeable. :]

    Tara

    December 9, 2008 at 7:57 pm

  4. p.s. I love those cups! Us in hot steamy coffee cup form!

    Tara

    December 9, 2008 at 8:05 pm

  5. Nice mug shot!! I crack myself up!

    D

    December 9, 2008 at 8:55 pm

  6. Tara: You didn’t get the grammar question correctly, but I’ll still give you an invisible prize on Thursday. 😛

    D: Hiiiiiiilarious.

    Paul

    December 10, 2008 at 11:53 am

  7. Yes yes, it’s the “It’s” in the description–I thought you meant the title of the drink. Ooo invisible prize :] ;]

    I hurt my back badly last night, I must have slept on it weird :\

    Oh…and Happy Anni! 🙂

    Tara

    December 10, 2008 at 12:27 pm

  8. Could it be a marketing ploy? I find that bookstores are often unbearably warm. Maybe sweaty people buy more books?

    Pam

    December 10, 2008 at 4:42 pm

  9. Could be! Those bookstore people are mighty sneaky bastards. I wouldn’t doubt it if they also poisoned our drinks, forcing us to buy How To Unpoison Yourself for Dummies in bulk!

    Paul

    December 10, 2008 at 7:34 pm

  10. i guess the fact that you find these repetitive things in your life funny and not sad is the reason you’re able to continue your journal comic and I have alas given up 😦 my life was just SO boring…there was nothing to say. I admire your ability to find the little things and make them kind of wonderful (or horrible)…it’s a tough thing to do…kudos as always Paul.

    1979semifinalist

    December 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm


Leave a Reply

