MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Voting Isn’t As Exciting As People Claim

with 6 comments

2008-11-04

On Election Day, I read post after post after post about these…feelings people were experiencing upon voting in the 2008 presidential election. Elation, excitement, the I-just-cured-cancer jitters! They must’ve voted at Heaven’s gates or within Lothlorien. I dunno, I got nothing. Here’s how the voting went down for me: I drove to the middle school down the road, showed the old man my registration card, signed the sign-in book (was the first name, of course), voted, thanked the fellow guarding the booth, and left. Total time…roughly under five minutes. No bells, no whistles, not even a “I Voted!” sticker was obtained. It might have been the tamest five minutes of my life if it wasn’t for all the old man calling me Pauly and telling me that the girl that had just voted before me…well, he coached her father in Little League back in the day. Thanks, old guy. I wish I could’ve taken you home with me. You were oh so the c-word.

How could it be
I’m the only one who sees
Your rehearsed insanity

– “I’ll Stick Around” by Foo Fighters

Written by Paul

November 4, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Posted in comics, life, old people, politics

Tagged with , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He called you Pauly??? Hmmm. Aww, he really is the c word. :] Older people can be so lovable.

    Yeah, I didn’t do anything on voting day, simply because I had already submitted my vote in early October. Hooray for those absentee ballots (which, mind you, was even less exciting than your experience). ;]

    Tara

    December 4, 2008 at 6:54 pm

  2. Oh No! Not the C dash dash dash word! I’ll have to wash your mouth out with Life Boy soap!

    TK42ONE

    December 5, 2008 at 10:02 am

  3. Tara: You missed out on all the excitement! See you tonight, darling. 😛

    TK: Forgive me, for I have sinned.

    Paul

    December 5, 2008 at 10:21 am

  4. I didn’t get an “I Voted” sticker either. That was a bummer because I got up at the crack of dawn so I’d be one of the first people to vote and, when you force yourself to wake up that early, you want everyone to know why.

    Pam

    December 5, 2008 at 11:43 am

  5. I think this experience was not “full of feelings” for you for two primary reasons. One, you generally don’t vote – correct? So you couldn’t feel maybe the difference that there was for many of us in this election who have always voted – sometimes (oh, 2000 and 2004 spring to mind) horrible results.

    Also, it sounds like your polling place was a breeze. Mine always has been as well, whether living in Utah, California or New York. Walking to an elementary school or a church and being done ith it in two minutes…the three presidential elections I voted in prior to this one were pretty much your exact experience, but this time I had to wait in line for almost an hour, and while I was none to happy about this, I also have to admit that it made me excited to see so many people out and voting for change…there was an excitment in the air where I was. And it’s not always like that. I’m sorry your experience was uneventful and not emotionally charged, but I hope that won’t turn you off the whole process…since we just got you… 🙂

    1979semifinalist

    December 5, 2008 at 12:15 pm

  6. I wish I had been able to vote, cause while it is short it makes you feel as though you’ve made some kind of difference. This year especially cause I voted for the winner! I’m definitely impressed with the turnout.

    Pauly, I’ll see you tonight, drive safe!!!!!!

    TK: But, he’ll get soap poisoning!

    Tara

    December 5, 2008 at 1:23 pm


Leave a Reply

