MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Almost Killed by a Twisty-Tie

with 6 comments

2008-10-15

Proof that, alas, I’m not yet ready to apply to be on Survivor. Also, and I know I’m not the only one in this boat here, but I go crazy when I can’t figure out the correct way to untwist the twisty-tie and I end up wasting minutes upon minutes trying to figure out this Rubik’s cube of bag sealers.

Now we are older and
Things disappeared somehow
And I was thinking that maybe
We’d stand a better chance if we met today

– “I Adore You” by Melpo Mene

Written by Paul

October 15, 2008 at 9:40 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw, well I’m glad you are ok!!!

    I hate when I think I’m untwisting but I’m really twisting it further, engrages me, really! :p Aww, I never realized they were that sharp either. : o

    Tara

    November 5, 2008 at 9:51 pm

  2. Better go get that tetanus shot! Geez!

    I take the twisty off once and then just get rid of it! I twist the plastic of the bag and tuck it under the loaf!

    Your finger and my foot can hang out, as body parts wounded by stupidity!

    bitsy

    November 5, 2008 at 11:02 pm

  3. You know, once upon a time, I used to use twisty ties every day at work. Sealing up loaves of bread. Unsealing them to be sliced, only to be sealed again. During this time, I learned to go to my “special place” and twist the twisty ties without thinking.

    Loaf of bread to the left. Bend the twisty ties into L-shapes to make picking them up easier. Pick up bread in bag and spin. Use right hand to twist twisty tie. Always twist away from you. Righty-tighty, lefty-loosey. Lather, rinse, repeat.

    And now you know what I did for a year and half of my life.

    TK42ONE

    November 5, 2008 at 11:45 pm

  4. Tara: Ha, I’d like to see you…enraged. One day. 😛

    Bitsy: Tetanus shot? Pfft. I’m the Iron Man, yo. Say hi to Momma Dukes for me!

    TK: Oh my. I feel like we’ve just grown a lot closer to one another.

    Paul

    November 6, 2008 at 10:56 am

  5. It’s a little shocking that with the advent of the MSNBC “Hologram” we haven’t also advanced beyond twisty-ties. I hate them.

    1979semifinalist

    November 6, 2008 at 12:13 pm

  6. Kelly: That Princess Leia trick was cah-ray-zee. I’m going to just start throwing out my twisty-ties. Yes, I will live on the edge…

    Paul

    November 6, 2008 at 12:37 pm


Leave a Reply

