MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

The Smile That Occupies My Mind

with 7 comments

Okay, so I’m going to come clean. I’ve gotten a lot more political in the last few months than I ever was during the entire three years I spent studying journalism at college. Still, I’ve had my mind made up for awhile now, and these debates seem to only lead to my confusion and befuddlement about the opposite podium’s perspective. I mean…some of the responses and facial ticks just make me want to scream the hair right off of my head.

So show me something we haven’t heard yet
But I’m not convinced and your hopeless songs won’t stick
But I, I’ll sing you something you won’t forget
For the first time I know this is now who I am

– “Season” by The Academy Is

Written by Paul

September 26, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Posted in comics, jerks, politics, world

Tagged with ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You and me both, darling.

    I’ve known who I was voting for awhile ago, so I’m not sure why I watched the debates, a lot of them made me angry and McCain scares the life out of me (Palin, maybe a bit more scary, don’t even get me started on her).

    Overall though, I think we got a few good laughs in. Quite a few.

    The second debate I found more intolerable… McCain was being a cocky, arrogant little child. His snide remarks and his LAME attempts at humor made my blood boil. Ugh. I don’t think tonight will be any better. I’ll be switching back and forth between the debate and Mythbusters.

    Tara

    October 15, 2008 at 6:06 pm

  2. bah! politics. let’s see you and dad debate!

    bitsy

    October 15, 2008 at 11:14 pm

  3. Tara: Mythbusters always win. I was playing a videogame last night instead of watching the election (yes, this contradicts me saying I’m more political now, but whatever; I figured it was going to be the same ol’ slams and insults). What myths were busted?

    Bitsy: Never and no way!

    Paul

    October 16, 2008 at 9:52 am

  4. “Posted in comics, jerks, politics, world”. That really does sum it up.

    Your McCain and Obama are so cute!

    Pam Abba

    October 16, 2008 at 9:55 am

  5. Could not agreew with you more – especially about the creepy haunting McCain “smile”.

    Glad you’re both more political…and in the tank for Obama! 🙂

    1979semifinalist

    October 16, 2008 at 10:26 am

  6. I’d vote for Adam and Jami in a minute.

    And they certianly beat Mr. Robot Smile Chipmunk Cheeks.

    TK42ONE

    October 16, 2008 at 11:18 am

  7. Pam: Thanks! Also, you’ve now used up your c-word quota. No more!

    Kelly: I mean, I like when people smile. Smiling is okay. Just not when he does it. Looks like he is planning a panty raid or something.

    TK: Amen! BUSTED.

    Paul

    October 16, 2008 at 1:20 pm


Leave a Reply

