MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Ocean City Air Show Accident-Free

with 8 comments

Those planes do some crazy maneuvers, twisting and turning like drunk snakes, soaring straight up into the sky until they flip themselves upside-down or zooming along beside their brothers. It’s enough to tighten one’s heartstrings, even if it is also exciting at the same time. I have vague memories of going to one or two air shows with my father when I was younger, but all that really materializes for me is the blur of something large and the whoosh it leaves in its wake…

On a note completely unrelated to today’s comic, I’ve discovered a song and music video that completely and unarguably summarizes everything that terrorizes me about the 1980s:

I’m sorry. (Did you see the robot?)

It’s hard to see your way out
When you live in a house in a house
Cause you don’t realize
That the windows were open the whole time

– “Talking Bird” by Death Cab for Cutie

Written by Paul

September 14, 2008 at 6:23 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well that’s good to hear!!! Air shows are fairly interesting to watch, I’ve seen a few accidents but they weren’t too bad, just a scrape on the side of the plane.

    That song scares me–like…really SCARES me. Let’s …go to the mall? Hmm… ::shiver:: I think I’m a bit traumatized. ;]

    Tara

    September 30, 2008 at 7:22 pm

  2. I went to the mall today! I missed seeing that neat-o keen-o robot.
    I also bought mere’s x-mas present! rock on to me!

    bitsy

    September 30, 2008 at 10:23 pm

  3. If you would have died that girl’s hair black and given her glasses, it would have been my wife in high school. It’s so much like her (including the boyfriend), that I absolutely must share it with her.

    TK42ONE

    October 1, 2008 at 9:38 am

  4. Robin Sparkles rocks!! Seriously, does no one watch How I Met Your Mother? That video was part of the episode where Barney unearthed Robin’s deep dark secret: she was a teen pop princess in Canada. They totally nailed 80s bubblegum pop with that one. It was a very funny episode. Did you guys think it was for real?

    TV Queen

    October 1, 2008 at 3:16 pm

  5. I thought it was totally real. Gah!

    Paul

    October 2, 2008 at 9:35 am

  6. Yeah…. I thought it was real too :\

    can’t say I’ve watched said show, or much television for that matter–

    winds down to House, Battlestar…the office and if I’m up late I’ll catch a few Frasier episodes.

    Tara

    October 2, 2008 at 11:33 am

  7. i dont know what u are talking aboot that song is awesome haha

    Marie

    October 3, 2008 at 9:25 pm


Leave a Reply

