MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

A Trip to the Montclair Book Center

with 7 comments

It’s kind of my home-away-from-home.

I’m currently in a really grouchy mood. Why? Well, I finally got around to setting up the free printer/copier/scanner that came with Macaroni and dang-it-all, the thing is actually worse than my scanner from 1995. No joke. It won’t let me scan like I’d like to, and I’ve been playing with it for…hmm, three hours. Wow. What a good amount of time wasted. I had to actually re-draw the left side of this comic and 08/16/08’s comic because the new scanner likes to crop and cut and be annoying. What’s the purpose of that? There is no purpose. Just more work and stress for me. I’m sure I just need more practice with it to figure it out, but I’m already grouchy.

And I’m out of ice cream.

::slinks away::

Written by Paul

August 17, 2008 at 9:37 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmm….well I got that scanner too….that makes me ANGRY. Anyways, that stinks, the comic looks good though 😀 it all looks good. ::muah!:: I hope the night gets better for you–oh and

    ::hands you some ice cream:: here you go 😀

    Tara

    August 20, 2008 at 9:55 pm

  2. Try teaching 29 hellions for 6 hours. And, sniff, no ice cream. just ramen.

    ps – i sort of love the smell of my used bookstore!

    Bitsy

    August 20, 2008 at 11:39 pm

  3. Nothing better than a good used book store. I had one I loved in LA, I’m sure there are great ones in NYC I just haven’t found them yet. Well I found one that’s great, but it’s tiny.

    As a sidenote, I HATE my new printer/copier/scanner – especially the scanner part – and it wasn’t even free! The scanner portion will be all “you do not need to scan this at a resolution high than 200dpi, would you like to lower the dpi?” – to which I scream at the machine – “You don’t know what resolution I need – you do not know my plans for said document! Just leave me alone and do what I tell you already! I am a human person – I know better than you!”…nine times out of ten it keeps asking me and I eventually just let it scan at whatever resolution it wants to scan at. Stupid F’ing Machine.

    1979semifinalist

    August 21, 2008 at 10:12 am

  4. Tara: I think I’m really going to like the copier part of the machine more than anything. It’ll come in handy when I start to make the print zine…

    Bitsy: No thanks! And mmm, yes, the smell. See panel one? Mmm, that’s me smelling all the musty, yellowed books. Yum!

    Kelly: OMG, my was doing that too! I was like, “Nooooo, I want 300 dpi you stupid, sad bastard!” Gah, technology. Who needs it…

    Paul

    August 21, 2008 at 10:16 am

  5. Okay Ross Geller, step away from the book stack with your lady-friend there.

    Used books are awesome but I tend to “rescue” the old ones and never read them. But I was lucky enough to score some decent reads the last time we went.

    TK42ONE

    August 21, 2008 at 11:20 am

  6. I LOVE the Monclair Book Center! It’s like stepping back in time, meandering among the maze of tomes. And you never know what you’re gonna find. I got an awesome book of photographs of individual snowflakes there. So cool! (pun intended…) I’ve been thinking how I have to go back, so I can resell some books that have overflowed out of my bookcases and onto the floor. Why is that always happening to me?

    semifinalist, the Strand is world famous. Also this link might help
    http://ny.com/shopping/bookstores/

    Lisa

    August 21, 2008 at 3:37 pm

  7. Lisa: Thanks for the link.

    As for The Strand, it is awesome, but I refuse to go there since an employee forced me to check in my tiny Virgin Megastore bag (not big enough to steal a book!) and then proceeded to steal the $50 headphones I had just splurged on twenty minutes earlier at Virgin. Everyone was shockingly blase about the whole situation and left me feeling pretty anti-The Strand. I haven’t been back since, which is a shame cause I love to buy me some books…

    1979semifinalist

    August 25, 2008 at 2:08 pm


Leave a Reply

