MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

I Beat Shadow of the Colossus

with 4 comments

Bitsy, Shadow of the Colossus is the game you were watching me play a couple Christmases ago, the one with the dude and the horse and the scary, giant behemoths stomping around. Yes, I finally beat it. I had to use a guide, but even then it was still a grueling experience. Died many a times. Bruised my thumbs up. But it was worth it.

Shadow of the Colossus is a pristine example of when a videogame can be both art and entertainment. The stark beauty of the landscapes, the sheer emptiness of it all is worth your time. The story is a bit light, but does come to fruition by the end. Then the Colossi themselves are mind-blowing. Giant, moving puzzles. Imagine your favorite boss battles. Did you come up with 16? Well, that’s what this game basically is. A shame I waited so long to really experience it…

Written by Paul

August 11, 2008 at 7:32 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw congrats darling đŸ™‚ i know what it feels like to work on a video game for a very long time, though, i can’t say I’ve ever played Colossus.

    Tara

    August 12, 2008 at 7:45 pm

  2. I agree, SoC is the best of all worlds when it comes to video games and art. Maybe I’ll beat it one of these days, it’s just sitting on top of my TV now as I speak!

    tgjason

    August 12, 2008 at 9:48 pm

  3. OMG – That game is my worst nightmare. Nothing but big bosslike bad guys. I like the happy little towns where you shop and speak with people. Go Zelda and ACWW.

    Man o man – but it was about time.

    I am proud.

    Bitsy

    August 12, 2008 at 11:29 pm

  4. tgjason: Oooooh do it. You might need the guide, like I did, because the boss battles can be so frustrating, especially after you spend a solid 15 minutes trying to find them only to be tossed to your death from some great height.

    Now I need to figure out what game to beat next…

    Bitsy: Ha, yeah! Definitely not your type of game. One day I’ll beat Suikoden V and Dark Cloud II…I got close on both of them.

    Paul

    August 13, 2008 at 1:34 pm


Leave a Reply

