MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Changes, always with the changes

with 12 comments

As we close in on the 400th comic here at MyLifeComics, I’ve started to do some thinking.

It actually began with a remark from D. She’d been glancing at my notebook where I actually draw these little moments of time and noticed that I do not date them nor number them in the notebook as I do so here on this website. There’s both a simple and convoluted reasoning for this. Would you like the simple reason first?

I’m lazy/dumb.

Ah, lucky for you, the convoluted reasoning is a little more fun to write about. See, the first mmm three hundred comics or so were drawn on pieces of loose paper and then tossed in a folder without any sort of organization to them. Sure, I know exactly what goes where and what happened when…but then again, it is my life after all. After that, I bought myself a nice notebook to keep them all in…yet I still didn’t date them or give any kind of clue as to when they were happening.

But the confusing part is that, more often than not, the comics I post here are about events that happened two to three weeks prior–yet they get dated with the day that they are posted, which leads people to believe things that are not necessarily true. This happens because I’m most certainly not able to draw a comic every day and then post said comic with a bloggy words beneath it every day. I just don’t have the time, the passion, or the love to do that–even though y’all here are great.

But! I’d really like to have my journal comics reflect a truer sense of my life, a more accurate account.

Which leads us to August 2008. A test month. A month where I’ll be drawing a comic a day (31 comics minimum, for those non-mathy people), but they will not be posted every day. I will post them online according to their dates when I can. I put that in bold for a reason. This means no more daily posts here, no more midnight comics, no more of that for now. But eventually, all the comics of the month will be posted here for your enjoyment.

But wait! There’s more! I’m going to be collecting the month’s worth of comics (along with bonus ones cause I’m nice like that) in a small, cheap print zine. Each month will get their own issue, and I’ll probably put these up for sale via this blog, with payment through PayPal. I’m thinking…$3.00 a copy for the time being.

I’m hoping that this will free up my weekday nights so that instead of worrying over getting the comic done for the following day–as well as drafting a post that is somewhat entertaining–I can get back to writing. Writing short stories, writing bits of flash fiction, hey, maybe finishing that frakking novel that loathes me for ignoring it for so long.

Because the truth is, of all the things in the world that I’d really want to be (excluding chocolate chip cookie taste-tester), I’d much rather be a writer and a cartoonist. I’d still like to be both, but if the former can happen before the latter I’d be pleased as punch. This will have no effect on Fortuitous Twist, which will just be updated when I want it to be updated.

Thanks for reading (if you read this far), and try not to hate me too much for this. No one really likes change, but it is either this or I slowly go mad from all the wishful thinking…

Written by Paul

July 25, 2008 at 11:27 am

Posted in comics, news, writing

Tagged with

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw, Pauly, I support this 110%! It will be an interesting test and I hope it works out so that you do get tons more writing done. You’re an awesome writer and you need to devote time to it. We all love your comics, but we will be patient for when you do post. πŸ™‚ No one can be mad at you for trying to do what you really want to do, what you love! (not that you don’t love to draw!)

    ❀ Good luck with this I hope it all works out for the best and I hope it frees up some time for you to write your amazing books–’cause let’s face it, your writing is orgasmic :p

    See you Saturday!! <3<3

    Tara (on a different computer)

    July 25, 2008 at 12:21 pm

  2. Tara: Thanks, girlfriend! This wasn’t an easy decision to make, and one that I’ve been thinking about for awhile. I hope it works out like I imagine it will in my head…

    Paul

    July 25, 2008 at 1:07 pm

  3. Wow – I will miss the midnight comics – 9 PM here! But you will do great with whatever writerly, comic-y thing you pursue.

    julie

    July 25, 2008 at 2:02 pm

  4. Bitsy: Thanks for the support, sis! πŸ˜€

    Paul

    July 25, 2008 at 2:14 pm

  5. While I’m no big fan of change, I’ve recently done some changing myself (of a sort). So, my take on it is this. It’s your baby, do what you want. So if you post one comic a week, I’ll put you in that Freak Angels bin. If you post 10 in one day and then stop for 3 or 8 days, I’ll put you in that High Maintenance Machine bin. And if you break the RSS feed, I’ll put you in the hope-you-go-to-hell-after-dying-a-long-and-painful-death bin.

    TK42ONE

    July 25, 2008 at 3:58 pm

  6. Great ideas! I look forward to the new format of publishing as well as your ezine.

    D

    July 25, 2008 at 5:00 pm

  7. TK: I suspect it’ll be more of the HMM manner than the other. Either way, so long as the feed works, I know you’ll ’round.

    D: Thanks! Just so you know, it’ll be a zine. Not an ezine. They are two different beasts; one is shoddily made on printed paper and the other is published online.

    Paul

    July 25, 2008 at 6:43 pm

  8. Change is a good thing!!!! whatever you do will be great!! I look forward to the new stuff! have a good weekend!

    mere

    July 25, 2008 at 6:48 pm

  9. Thanks, Momma Dukes! We’ll catch up this weeeeeekend. πŸ˜€

    Paul

    July 25, 2008 at 10:19 pm

  10. Hey Paul.

    I so hear you on this issue. It’s shocking how much time these daily strips take up, and I’ve also come to realize that things may have to change on my blog if I am to give my writing the time it deserves (and really really needs). I’m going to wait on my changes until I hit the one year mark for Rabid Lamb Comics daily posting (sometime in October?) but after that things are gonna be changing on SemiFinalist too…I guess all that to say, life is change and I support you 100%.

    kelly

    1979semifinalist

    July 27, 2008 at 7:38 pm

  11. Thanks, Kelly! I fully return the support for your comics and look forward to changes as well. πŸ˜€

    Paul

    July 27, 2008 at 9:35 pm

  12. […] Back in the day I decided I’d try and make a print zine out of my daily comics, an idea which flopped because I struggled with the zine-making process and probably need help and someone to guide me along the way if I’m ever to do this again. An incentive, however, to get people interested in these were the notion of bonus comics. Y’klnow, extra stuff. I kept them hidden from the online world for too long though… […]


Leave a Reply

