MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#388 – Faux Birthday

with 9 comments

Yes, I got fireworks. D supposedly planned it all out, she said. I still don’t know if I believe her…and actually, correct me if I’m wrong oh-family-of-mine, but I think I actually used to call fireworks “boom-boom sky” instead of “bang-bang sky.” Gah. I’m a failure with words. My memory is so going…

Some many days ago, I held a little contest asking readers to name my brand new laptop. Trina destroyed the competition, offering up a name that sort of held the key to my heart: Macaroni. Here is her prize:

That’s Trina in the middle. Come on, use your imagination. You know what I’m also adding to my list of Impossible Things to Draw now…nudibranches. My attempt at such a critter is that dancing taco in the bottom right corner. Ugh. Apologizes to sea slugs everywhere!

Snapple Real Facts #18: A jellyfish is 95% water.

And now, we proudly present
Songs perverse and songs of lament
A couple of hymns of confession
And songs that recognize our sick obsessions
Sing along, I’m on the ugly organ again
Sing along, I’m on the ugly organ, so let’s begin

– “Some Red Handed Sleight of Hand” by Cursive

Written by Paul

July 22, 2008 at 12:00 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful πŸ™‚ That kid really was…cute…and I know you would admit to that. It was nice to see the fireworks ::sigh:: I miss vacation, can we go back???

    And yeah, it was boom boom sky if my memory serves me right.

    I love the underwater scene! Looks great! πŸ™‚ A fine prize indeed!

    Tara

    July 22, 2008 at 12:04 am

  2. Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

    I love it! Thank you! And thanks for identifying that “sea taco”. I thought maybe it was some kind of amoeba.

    I’m going to print it out and hang it in my art gallery (aka the refrigerator.)

    treenieweenie

    July 22, 2008 at 8:35 am

  3. Boom, boom sky!!! And yes, I arranged for the fireworks. What a celebration we had!

    D

    July 22, 2008 at 8:54 am

  4. Oooh – lots of underwater sea animals! I like it. The fishies all smile nice before they devour you…
    Fireworks were fun. Then ten minutes later the rain poured down, down, down. And hey Biff – you didn’t mention your extreme reluctance to have a faux party. A party is a party!

    Bitsy

    July 22, 2008 at 9:23 am

  5. Duuuude, that crabbie crab-dude is going to pinch your foot.

    TK42ONE

    July 22, 2008 at 9:35 am

  6. Tara: Yes, I can openly admit that that hobbity boy was…cute. But only cause he looked like a hobbit. Cause, as you know, even the smallest person can change the course of the future.

    Trina: Yay, now everyone will see it when they go for a midnight snack! πŸ˜€

    D: Yes, you’re quite the party planner. πŸ˜‰

    Bitsy: Mmm, I hate being the center of attention (despite this website and all), but the faux party and true dat gifts were nice. I bought Pan’s Labyrinth with some of my Target gift card, and I think I’ll be using the Best Buy ones for a new DS game, perhaps.

    TK: That’s how crabs say hello though. πŸ˜›

    Paul

    July 22, 2008 at 9:38 am

  7. Very nice. I just wish we would see some octopus that big. That Nudi wasn’t that bad I could tell what it was.
    The only thing is that proper alignment of a (good) diver (which Trina is) is horizontal, not vertical.

    RAD Diver

    July 22, 2008 at 10:52 am

  8. RAD Diver: Thanks for the info! I’d totally drown if I ever attempted to dive with the fishies.

    Paul

    July 22, 2008 at 11:04 am

  9. Well, RAD (aka my husband dearest) I think it looks like I’m doing a slow and safe ascent to 15′ in order to do my safety stop before exiting the water.

    treenieweenie

    July 22, 2008 at 1:17 pm


Leave a Reply

