MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#384 – Mini-Golfing Rejection

with 7 comments

For those of you that don’t know–and shame on you–the nineteenth hole here is not referencing the nearest pub to the course (of which, in Ocean City, there are none), but instead is talking about the final hole offered to players in a round a miniature golf. It is the bane of golf swings worldwide, a slender slab of faux grass and trite design aesthetics that lavishly promise any putter that sinks a hole-in-one a free game. But that doesn’t happen. Not now, not ever. Go ahead and think of someone, anyone at all. Have they ever won a free game like so? I think nots. It is impossible to work the nineteenth hole’s magic, and having people shout “Rejected!” at you only adds insult to injury. Still, I won…so neener neener neener.

Snapple Real Fact #173: Chinese is the most spoken language in the world.

Someone come quickly, this place was built for moving out
Leave behind buildings, the city planners got mapped out
Bring with you history and make your hard-earned feast
Then we’ll go to Omaha, to work and exploit the booming music scene and humility
And we’ve been talking all night

– “The Execution of All Things” by Rilo Kiley

Written by Paul

July 16, 2008 at 12:00 am

Posted in bitsy, comics, D, funny, games, sports, travel, vacation

Tagged with , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmm, well I am having a rather interesting conversation with you at this very moment, so you didn’t take a break to tell me that the comic was up, but since I’m oh so on the ball ;] Not really, I just looked at the clock. It was rather discouraging, with all those people watching and sneering at you, it’s jarring I’d say.

    I got third place, better than I usually do, I’d say.

    I actually knew about chinese being the most spoken language! Get ready for Friday! 🙂

    Tara

    July 16, 2008 at 12:09 am

  2. I believe English is the most spoken second language though!

    tgjason

    July 16, 2008 at 3:58 am

  3. I’m sure she wanted to swing her club at that obnoxious kid!

    If you want to check out the sharks we saw on our dive last Sunday, hopefully, this link will work:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/TrinaLoraine/HatterasDiveTrip?authkey=wocb9i28NtQ

    treenieweenie

    July 16, 2008 at 7:55 am

  4. I’ve actually made a hole in one on that last hole before. Completely by chance though. My step goosed me just as I swung and I made it. Played my free round in like 10 minutes because we had to go. Not as much fun as I thought it would be.

    TK42ONE

    July 16, 2008 at 8:49 am

  5. Tara: Is it Friday yet? Dunnna dunnna dunnna dunnna BATMAN!

    tgjason: Ah, clearly you’ve forgotten that Klingon is way more popular than English!

    Trina: Yay, sharks! Awesome photos. Looks like a good dive, for sure.

    TK: Way to ruin my theory! ::throws a tomato::

    Paul

    July 16, 2008 at 9:10 am

  6. All hail the mini golf king!!!! My surprising 2nd was…surprising. I went out last night and had too much harp. My head hurts. I need to go in to school and move some furniture. sigh.

    Nice pictures,Trina. You’d have had to shoot me before I’d get in the water with all those creatures. Scaaaaaaary!

    Bitsy

    July 16, 2008 at 12:26 pm

  7. I and my family have made the 19th hole lots of times. I guess we’re just really good.

    Rebekah

    December 9, 2010 at 4:13 pm


Leave a Reply

