MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

A Taste of The Zane Lane

with 9 comments

Come on, everybody! Hop in the DeLorean and let’s travel back to 1999! This was a time when I breathed, ate, drank, and slept everything Gary Larson. The Far Side remains to this day one of those strips that is beyond timeless, weirdly weird, and rewarding, and I never miss a chance to flip through my old collectives. Those one-panel gags, so great and funny and thought-provoking…well, you saw what happened when I fell in love with Calvin and Hobbes, remember? Here’s what came out of my 16-year-old head at the time, a bunch of gags under the brand name of The Zane Lane:

The one just above here is a little cut off. It reads: “They had no identity on themselves so we’re calling them John and Jane Doe.” Yeah, I’m a frakking riot. Always was, always will be. There’s more from The Zane Lane, but I’ll let y’all sweat it out some more…

There should be MyLifeComics up for tomorrow and Friday, depending on my workload. I still have so much on my to-do list that ISN’T crossed off yet and vacation looms. Blargh, but not blarghing about vacation. Blarghing about the stress of things to do. :/

Oh, and I added a page for my bibliography. Go check out where I’ve had short stories published at! Go! Get! SCRAM!

Written by Paul

June 25, 2008 at 12:00 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tara, where are you?? I get first post????

    Biff – you always amuse. I enjoyed your early day comics. I still have one of your “Paulmark” cards. It was for my 21st “birdday” and the card was covered in birds. Luv, luv, luv. I have an insane list of things to get done, too. 2 more days of work.
    And instead of doing work, I am playing on the computer and watching a show on Amish people.

    Bitsy

    June 25, 2008 at 12:34 am

  2. hehe :p I had to head in early last night, I had to study and then get rest because I had a bit of an eye infection, which I assume was an allergy cause it’s gone now. :O Paul practically shooed me off to bed so I had no choice! I’ll get first comment next time (I hope!) 😉

    Paulll I love those little comics 🙂 Very clever, I’ll have to see more at some point, and OH I know about this crazy stressful week :\ but it will soon come to an end and I shall see you on friday 🙂 It’s the only thing getting me through the week, ugh, time to go to work!

    Tara (on a different computer)

    June 25, 2008 at 7:11 am

  3. Bitsy: Heh, yup! You beat her to first post! Her eye wasn’t feeling well so I sent her to bed early. Aw, you’ve kept a Paulmark? Mmm birds. Few more days since! I’m holding onto the exotic clock for you. 😛

    Tara: Glad to hear the eye is doing better! You can’t get sick before vacation!!! Hope work goes well, and good luck on your test tonight. We’ll chat laters, taters.

    Paul

    June 25, 2008 at 8:33 am

  4. I love the first two. Very Larson-esque. And Paulmark cards? Sounds like a great name to trademark. I’m off early today for a you-know-what function (lunch on the river). Then Yvonne gets a tat. Then I’m off tomorrow so I can finalize my you-know-what from home plans. And my vacation starts next week!

    TK42ONE

    June 25, 2008 at 9:10 am

  5. Number 4 (ice-cream truck) is freaking brilliant. That last one is a great site gag as well. They’re all pretty great. How old were you? Impressive.

    1979semifinalist

    June 25, 2008 at 9:56 am

  6. I love the retro comics. Hysterically CUTE!!! I TOO have a long list of things to do, but no worries, we will get it done.

    D

    June 25, 2008 at 10:02 am

  7. I think I spoke to soon on the whole “comics list” thing. I suddenly dropped to 1100 and went to check it out and the last time they checked my comic was June 10th…so that is super annoying since I’ve posted, oh, ELEVEN comics since then.

    But I don’t really seem to be getting hits from them anyway, so I guess it doesn’t matter.

    1979semifinalist

    June 25, 2008 at 10:15 am

  8. TK: Thanks! If I was to stop being modest for a moment’s breath, I’d like to think that a few of these really nail the Larson-esque humor. Oooooh, Yvonne is getting a tat! That’s awesome! Depending where she gets it, your hand might be a mangled mess if you offer it to her. 😛

    Kelly: I was sixteen years old in 1999. Ha, that’s so odd. Oh wells. Glad you liked ’em! I got more somewhere around here that I’ll post at a later date.

    D: Grrrrrr, you said the c word! That’ll be a tuna salad sammich please! Can’t wait to see ya. 😀

    Kelly (again): Yeah, it’s such an odd system. Everyone else checks my comics fine even though I don’t get many hits as well. Who knows. I’m probably going to remove it from my sidebar because I’m tired of seeing myself at the 9,172 marker and feeling like nobody lurves me.

    Paul

    June 25, 2008 at 10:21 am

  9. Paulie – On the ankle. I’ll post photos if she allows it.

    TK42ONE

    June 25, 2008 at 10:45 am


Leave a Reply

