MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Guest Strip #2 – Something in My Ear

with 11 comments

Woo, another guest comic! This one is brought to you by the wonderful Tara and really captures the limits of our affection for one another. I mean really…ear hair. I’m disgusting! And yet…we prevail!

Anyways, let the countdown begin! My vacation officially starts Friday at 5:00 PM! I CAN’T WAIT AND I NEED IT NOW LIKE SO SO SO RIGHT NOW!

Writing news (a.k.a., Kelly, pay attention!)
Sold a short story over the weekend! Tyree Campbell of Aoife’s Kiss wrote to inform me that yes, despite how disturbing it is, he’d like to buy my short story “Nonsense” for the December 2008 issue. Or it might go online. Or in an anthology. It’s up in the air at the moment, but either way, it’s accepted. He already published my dark tale “After Effects” in the March 2008 issue so I guess I haven’t really freaked him out enough. Oh wells. Disturbing it shall be…


This could have been a song about the wind but my words were blown away
I could have sung about tomorrow but I couldn’t find today
Forget about writing about my conversations because I can’t think of what to say
With nothing left to sing about my ax in tune, I got no choice but to sing to you

– “Could Have Been a Song” by Pat McGee Band

Written by Paul

June 23, 2008 at 12:00 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ew, I can’t draw on tablets well! <–My disclaimer.

    Paul! You make it sound like I plucked it out of your head! You see, he had his hair cut, so that’s where the hair came from. Haha yes, we shall prevail through all, and you are not disgusting my dear.

    Again, disclaiming my stinky tablet scribbles. ::sob::

    BUT, congrats!! I know I congratulated you before with my Elaine type “get out!” response (I really didn’t mean to hit you that hard :o), but I shall do it again. 🙂 You really deserve it, I’ve only read a bit of your work, all that was accessible to me at least and I’ve enjoyed every last sentence. Excellent. EXCELLENT

    Tara (on a different computer)

    June 23, 2008 at 12:10 am

  2. AND! Yes, I’m really looking forward to vacation too!!!! I will be at your apartment around 6-7, I gotta feed and take out the pups! 5 days until many days of freeeedom. Meww. I need it NOW.

    Freedom tastes of reality…well said Pete Townshend.

    Tara (on a different computer)

    June 23, 2008 at 12:15 am

  3. Tara – what a great job! I liked the comic!
    Biff, good to see you getting a haircut. That just means you now have more exposed skin to burn on vacation!

    Bitsy

    June 23, 2008 at 1:03 am

  4. Congrats on the story, Biff! Tara, you are an artist, too! Bring your sketchpads to oc…..i am sure there will be interesting items for future comics. i am counting down to VK…o wait, i am already on VK. i love it when you get a haircut, biff. it is a mother’s dream!

    Mere

    June 23, 2008 at 9:22 am

  5. Tara- love the comic…I think it’s great.. and you can draw, tablet or otherwise, I can only draw stick figures, and not very well.

    Paul- Congrats on the story!! Where will you be going on your vacation… somewhere tropical by the sound of it. Hope you two have a great time!!

    Girly

    June 23, 2008 at 9:48 am

  6. Tara – Loved the comic. It has a great loose style to it…and it looks watercolored – which is kind of awesome.

    Paul – Congrats on the story. It’s one thing to get published and it’s a whole other thing to get published and paid…the latter is certainly the best! Congrats. Have a great time on your vacation…where are you headed?

    1979semifinalist

    June 23, 2008 at 10:03 am

  7. Paul – Congrats on the sale and the haircut.

    Tara – I like your version of Paul better than his. I think he’s too modest.

    And wait until that turns into real ear hair. Oh the joys of old age.

    TK42ONE

    June 23, 2008 at 11:06 am

  8. Tara: Excellent tablet drawing! Now hush hush. 😛

    Bitsy: Well, I’m gonna say I got a hairtrim…more than a haircut. 😉

    Mere: Few more days! GET READY!

    Girly: We’re going to Ocean City, NJ! Staying in a nice beach house and just relaxing it up mmm.

    Kelly: Heh, getting paid and published is yummy stuff!

    TK: Aw, what age will my ears become that gross? 89? I got a few more years to go then…

    Paul

    June 23, 2008 at 1:06 pm

  9. Thanks everyone for your nice compliments 😀 Too nice!

    …And if it was real ear hair, I probably would have left it there, ’cause that would have hurt if I tried to take that out. 😮

    Tara (on a different computer)

    June 23, 2008 at 4:45 pm

  10. I love PMD. Congrats on your story – can I read it?!

    D

    June 23, 2008 at 4:51 pm

  11. […] of no better proof than the above that there is absolutely somebody for everybody out there. First this, then plucking old man hair out of my beard. Tara is a true trooper. I will half-apologize for the […]


Leave a Reply

