MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#373 – Politics Dinner

with 11 comments

To begin, this is my first post here at MyLifeComics from my MacBook. Mmm I lurve it already. It runs really great and everything is so simple on a Mac. I haven’t done too much with it from lack of time, but I’m slowly bringing everything over to here from my PC. But yeah, it’s all very shiny and cool. Stay tuned for tomorrow where I’ll be running a small contest in which the lappy top acquires its True Name. And no, it’s not going to be your name. As if!

But yes, politics. The bane of my existence. Or maybe the punchline. What’s the joke then, you ask? I graduated college with a degree in journalism, a major where more than a good percentage of news being reported is…political. Ah. Yeah, it’s not really that funny. I just can’t get too passionate about it all. Elephants, donkeys, third parties, debates, scandals, slander, campaigns…it’s all just too much. I’d rather eat pretzels and watch TV shows about a ragtag group of survivors in outer space trying to find their way to Earth…

Question of the day: What subjects do you have trouble talking about, whether it’s from lack of knowledge or sheer discomfort or whatever you will? Animal rights? Foreign trade? Unicorns?

Hey now the straw dog’s out in the street
Hey now there’s chemicals in the clouds
Hey now they’re calling all the police
But they won’t get to us
No they’ll never get to us

– “Straw Dog” by Something Corporate

Written by Paul

June 17, 2008 at 12:00 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha yes, my parents are fairly political people, sometimes I don’t even know how to deal with them.

    mmmm lappytop :] I’m glad I could be there for your big purchase šŸ˜€ Unfortunately (fortunately) that guy that helped you with your purchase was not there this morning when I went to see if they could fix my powerbook.

    Hmm, as for a name I’ll have to think. I DID already name your guitar, so maybe I’ll leave this one open for someone else. I’m hoping that you, my dear, will help me name mine, because after 3 years I still haven’t named mine (which is very odd considering I name almost everything).

    Anywho, I’m off to bed, I can’t think of anything that I feel particularly uncomfortable talking about…maybe I will get back to you on that in the morning :]

    ugh semi annual sale tomorrow! Panties!

    See you soon, er, today! šŸ™‚

    Tara

    June 17, 2008 at 12:07 am

  2. Maybe it runs in the family – I can’t stand talking politics.

    And then, there’s music. My friends have definite opinions on music, lyrics, band members, albums, everything. They get into raging debates. I end up just sitting there thinking – I mean, who cares?! If it is on I will listen. I like edgy stuff, pop, r & b, country, 90s alternative (the only genre of music I ever had an opinion on!)…

    I like talking about education!

    Bitsy

    June 17, 2008 at 1:08 am

  3. Music, politics, geek culture, they’re all pretty polarizing and they ignite such furious passion in people that it really ends up breeding close mindedness instead of any sort of open debate. At least, that’s how it is in my family, everyone thinks they know all there is to know about X subject and no one can sway them.

    So yeah, I enjoy talking about politics to open minded people; same with music, but I’m too good at arguing(read stubborn) to ever want to do it on a regular basis.

    tgjason

    June 17, 2008 at 1:47 am

  4. Religion and Politics are the two biggies that can quickly turn into screaming matches. Maybe because they’re both mostly based on personal values and opinions.

    How do you get into a raging debate about music? Debate the artistic value of one particular song over another? You know what they say about beauty and the beholder…

    treenieweenie

    June 17, 2008 at 7:48 am

  5. Bitsy – you used to be very opinioned about music. I cringe thinking back about what it was like living with you during high school years. Pearl Jam and Blind Melon, ugh.

    D

    June 17, 2008 at 7:57 am

  6. Tara: Don’t spend all your money in one place! šŸ˜›

    Bitsy: Politics, shmolitics! I can’t get into music with people. D knows that I listen to a wide range of stuff. She remembers sitting next to me and my computer, I’m sure, when I’d go from blasting screaming music to soft indie rock to pop to country to whatever. Music is music. Just enjoy it, everybody!

    tgjason: Ah stubbornness! The gasoline of arguments. šŸ˜‰

    Trina: Yeah, religion and politics seem to run hand-in-hand. Racism and politics, especially nowadays, seems almost to be brought up every time.

    D: Fight! Fight! Fight! Round One is Bitsy’s Blind Melon versus D’s Hootie and the Blowfish! IT IS ON!

    Paul

    June 17, 2008 at 8:48 am

  7. Panties! Yeah! Ahem…

    I’d have to say the most difficult thing for me to talk about is religion. Most people don’t understand my views on it and I don’t understand how people can be, in my opinion, so brainwashed.

    Politics is easy for me. I’m an independent blue-green living in a red state.

    And you should name your new Mac “Porkins.”

    TK42ONE

    June 17, 2008 at 9:07 am

  8. I hate talking politics.. I know very little because I just don’t care, when I hear “obama” or “clinton” I automatically zone out…. other than that anything goes!

    Girly

    June 17, 2008 at 9:08 am

  9. I think I like talking about all of these things…unless I am talking with someone stupid. I tend to run on the passionate side, but I also like to have lots of logic and critical thinking to back up my passion…so the only time I hate talking with people about these subjects is when they are clearly close minded…I try to be open to new ideas and so I like the people I converse with to try to be open too.

    Oh wait, if I had to pick one subject I’d say religion. As an atheist, some religious people I’ve talked with have gotten up in arms REAL QUICK about the fact that I don’t believe in god. It seems to offend them somehow and it sucks. They also seem to be very easily offended by me, despite the fact that I’m not the one trying to tell them what to believe in…since I don’t, well, believe in anything. šŸ™‚

    1979semifinalist

    June 17, 2008 at 9:41 am

  10. I’m with Kelly. Stupid people make any conversation dreadful. When we lived in North Carolina, people would literally take a step back from us when I introduced my wife and mentioned she was Catholic. They would nod and smile and take a step toward us when I mentioned I was raised a Methodist. I sure as hell wasn’t going to tell them I used to be an atheist but was now an agnostic. I doubt they’d know what it meant and would probably have labeled me as a witch or something.

    TK42ONE

    June 17, 2008 at 11:46 am

  11. Well it’s almost midnight…well not really, more like an HOUR to go…but alas, seeing you today really wore me out! (that and waking up at o’dark thirty)

    I kind of know what the comic will be about…BUT I shall not spoil! I just know cause I was there :p but I shall talk to you tomorrow and I’ll be sure to comment bright and early when I do wake up! Thanks for making dinner tonight dear šŸ˜€ It was delicious, mmmmmmm.

    My powerbook is going in tomorrow too! So I won’t be on my computer, I’ll be using the ‘family’ computer. I hope the mac genuis people can fix it.
    So I’ll be Tara from another computer, for awhile, or “on a different computer”, whatever I managed to write :p Talk to you soooon, have a good night dear! mewww

    Tara (on a different computer)

    June 17, 2008 at 11:22 pm


Leave a Reply

