MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#370 – How To Survive the Summer Heat

with 12 comments

Really, it’s been horrible lately. There’s was a crazy thunderstorm last night that seemed to cool things down tremendously, but it is still pretty humid. And when I say humid I really mean lava hot. Lisa and I discussed anti-agenda on air conditioning over some Starbucks food the other day, and I informed her that I can’t afford to turn my air conditioning on a lot. That it’s a treat when I do use it, and that even when I’m using it all I can picture is the numbers on my electric bill going up, up, up. Yet, I’m thinking that when I can begin to actually see my funny bone. I might have to rethink my madness…

And yes, if you’re curious, I’m completely nude in panel two. Oh, you weren’t curious? Hmm. Too bad, suckas! Now your minds are contaminated! Hahahaha!

Everything rises, going at it all
All the surprises in a size too small
And what if I told you
I was still in love with this?
Would you surprise us
In a size for all of me?

– “Size Too Small” by Sufjan Stevens

Written by Paul

June 12, 2008 at 12:00 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We actually didn’t get hit in Asbury…just a lot of wind…I was a tad disappointed :\

    Yeah, we don’t have air in my house, so I’m not really missing it, cause I never knew what it felt like to begin with.

    Oh, my dear, contaminated? I think not 😉 I was a bit curious…to be completely honest ;P Ha, I see your name…on your upper arm!

    Tara

    June 12, 2008 at 12:04 am

  2. Eww Biff – clothe yourself. Suffer with dignity and grace, like all the Arizonans here. Saturday and Sunday temps are expected to be at 109. So, quit your bellyaching. But here are some chilly ideas to get you through this heat wave:

    fans
    sitting in other places that are air conditioned (coffee shop, bookstore, target)
    ice packs (i have a cool/hot pack filled with specially treated popcorn kernels in the freezer)
    cool showers
    dips in the pool
    laying really really still
    keeping the lights off
    eating cold food – fruit, frozen grapes, popsicles, iced coffee

    julie

    June 12, 2008 at 1:30 am

  3. Psh, try living in the harsh west coast deserts and getting pelted by the sweltering Santa Ana winds!

    Not to mention our crazy California power bills.

    I live the same way as you; swearing off the A/C altogether. It ain’t fun.

    tgjason

    June 12, 2008 at 2:09 am

  4. I don’t think, living in Texas, that I could survive without air conditioning!! Here is another idea to help keep cool… put your sheets in the freezer for an hour or so before bed. It works.. I tried it when I was nine months pregnant, we had a tiny house with only a window unit air conditioner in one room, and it was in the middle of August!

    Girly

    June 12, 2008 at 9:01 am

  5. I MIGHT (and that’s a mighty big might) be able to get thru the day w/o a/c but I don’t think I could sleep comfortably at night without it.

    We’re getting a bit of a reprieve today-only 70 degrees at 10:10am.

    Is that really a tattoo on your upper arm?

    treenieweenie

    June 12, 2008 at 10:12 am

  6. Tara: I bet your basement is the coolest part of the house. That’s why all the bugs hang out down there. Well, them and band members. 😛

    Julie: What’s with using the real name, Bitsy? I’m bummed. I wanted it to go on forevers.

    tgjason: Santa Ana Winds sounds like an awesome band name. Or travel company. One of those.

    Girly: Hmmm, good idea! Might have to try it. 😀

    Trina: Yes, it’s hard to sleep at night without AC. Blargh. But good eye! It tis a tattoo, and it’s been there for…holy shit in a bucket…six years.

    Paul

    June 12, 2008 at 10:29 am

  7. Signing in as a liver (not a word) of all types of US climates I have to proclaim New York (and I’ll throw in New Jersey for you Paul) as the worst of the summer heats. Perhaps I have gotten grouchy and fussy in my old age, but I never had trouble in Los Angeles, Tucson, or even in Savannah Georgia, the way I have trouble with the head/humidity combo in New York.

    I will also admit that I’ve never lived in the deserts of Cali, but if they are similar to Vegas then I think I’d have trouble with that. It’s just way too hot there and for way too long, with no relief, and even though it’s a dry heat it’s just like stepping into an oven, which is pretty unpleasant.

    The real problem is that we’ve obviously broken the world. 105 in early June in New York? That is breaking records (in a bad way) and it sounds like many of you are breaking them in your areas too. Yet there was a news report the day we were at 105 that it was snowing in Washington State. What the F?!

    1979semifinalist

    June 12, 2008 at 11:28 am

  8. Trina – Damn you for noticing the tat first. I was going to make a lewd comment about his arm, his tattoo, and being happy to see me. Draw your own conclusions.

    Paulie – I grew up in a house that was set at 62 in the summer. And about as cold in the winter. Felt like a damn polar bear, but I loved it. Now, things are a tad warmer. House is set to 77 in the summer and about 74 in the winter.

    But the big question is, what’s the tat of? (and who else has them?)

    TK42ONE

    June 12, 2008 at 11:33 am

  9. Kelly: Wow, we really did break the world. When are we going to be able to terra-form Mars or some other planet? Better yet…let’s just take a vacation to Alaska. Mmm…polar bears.

    TK: Mmm a nice, cold house. Could really go for that right now. As per my tattoo, it is what it is. Meaning, I’m not ready to spill the beans yet. But if you’ve seen it in real life, consider yourself special because it means I trust ye a super bunch. As they say in the Battlestar Galactica previews, “all will be revealed…”

    Paul

    June 12, 2008 at 11:57 am

  10. I agree with Julie: eeewwww…

    Lisa

    June 12, 2008 at 5:16 pm

  11. You like it, Lisa! I’m like a cabana boy!

    Paul

    June 12, 2008 at 9:52 pm

  12. heeheehee

    Lisa

    June 13, 2008 at 6:59 pm


Leave a Reply

