MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#363 – Tara’s Dad’s Birthday Dinner

with 14 comments

That’s right. For once, my memory has failed me. I blame the fact that too many moments built up in my mind and then, sorta like a balloon with too much air (no, I’m not saying I’m full of hot air), pop it went. Or is that a weasel? Moving on…

I remember wine, laughs, quiet moments, awkward unearthings, text messages, bugs in the airs, dogs at our feet, food on our plates (BBQ shrimp and pasta salad and roasted veggies mmm yum), blueberry crumble pie that was crumb-buh-lievable, faux phone calls from imaginary neighbors, Romeo below the balcony, and a somewhat heated discussion of politics which I, being a journalism major and all, politely stayed out of. It’s amazing my head doesn’t explode more often with all the shtuff I keep in it.

Question of the day: I’ve got nothing. How about you ask me something? Anything at all.

If things get real for me down here
Promise to take me back to the tune
We played before you went away

– “The Sound of White” by Missy Higgins

Written by Paul

June 3, 2008 at 12:00 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MMMM shrimp…blueberry pie… now I’m hungry!

    girlydigs

    June 3, 2008 at 12:13 am

  2. Yes…those darn “bug” lights my dad bought were in the words of my brother “ridiculoussssss”

    haha you captured chewy so well, and dale too, he looks very inquisitive! We did have some delicious wine, which you brought, my brother and my dad went on about silly things, my sister was just ignoring us all and text messaging her friend Julie, my mom was drunk, and you, ellen, and I were sipping the wine. My brother is extremely blunt, if you hadn’t noticed with the whole “you know, I hate it when my friend megan comes over and texts people the entire time throughout dinner”, while he is obviously looking right at Kate. The faux phone calls were great, and yes…mmm crumb-buh-lievable! I don’t think we have anymore of that. Very to-the-tee I’d say, you even got the bug in my wine! and…aw, we are holding hands 😉 I have a good eye, eh?

    Well, you survived dinner with my family, the only people you really have to worry about are my sister and my father because they feed off drama and conflict. (and Kate’s tattoo drama at that) My brother, ellen and my mom are very laid back people. So yes, my dysfunctional family. We are…VERY dysfunctional, as I’m sure you noticed. No one would believe you even if you told them everything that went on… they would really have to be there.

    I haven’t laughed with my family like that in a long time. I can only imagine what horrendous matters would have been unveiled if you weren’t there…so we thank you, because it was much more pleasant with you there!! ::muah::

    🙂

    So Sean and Ellen invited us over for dinner, and then a little Home Movies marathon! You will meet the kitties too, just be careful of kitten, she can be deadly.

    Oh nooo, I didn’t make first comment…. 😦 I hope Mrs. A won’t be upset! But this comment is extra long so I suppose that makes up for it!!! ::sigh:: next time… ::clenches fist:: i’ll get it, next time 😉

    See you tomorrrrrrrow 🙂

    Tara

    June 3, 2008 at 12:17 am

  3. hey cool! i’ve just started out comic-ing… hope i can get to 300+!

    kal

    June 3, 2008 at 2:30 am

  4. Post very nice

    Roverella

    June 3, 2008 at 4:51 am

  5. Girly: Just don’t put the shrimp in the blueberry pie, ‘kay? 😛

    Tara: Longest comment evar! See you tonigggght.

    Kal: Thanks for stopping by! Hope you reach 300 and beyond as well.

    Roverella: Merci!

    Paul

    June 3, 2008 at 9:21 am

  6. Here’s a question:

    For my birthday, will you make a color comic about me and the Wild World of Animal Crossing? And instead of a gift card, will you get me resident evil apocalypse, or whichever the 3rd one is?

    Ciao!

    Bitsy

    June 3, 2008 at 9:28 am

  7. Yes and yes, if that’s what you really want.

    I caught an eel yesterday! Wee! I was so tempted to eat it right there on the spot, but decided it was better kept in my museum…

    Paul

    June 3, 2008 at 9:58 am

  8. How Long is a Chinaman.

    TK42ONE

    June 3, 2008 at 11:17 am

  9. That…ended in a period, I’m afraid.

    Paul

    June 3, 2008 at 11:24 am

  10. Ok, no shrimp in the blueberry pie. I’ll keep that in mind 🙂

    girlydigs

    June 3, 2008 at 11:54 am

  11. I have no questions…just a desperate plea to Bitsy…don’t get/buy/request Resident Evil: Apocalypse. SO BAD!

    I wrote an angry ranty blog post about it like a month ago (I’ll spare you the link)…it was no Resident Evil #1…

    1979semifinalist

    June 3, 2008 at 1:56 pm

  12. Hee, yes I remember that post. I haven’t seen the third one yet though, found the second was rather blah, but loved the first film.

    Paul

    June 3, 2008 at 3:13 pm

  13. I actually saw the 3rd one in the movie theater with a friend!
    I am sort of compulsive about having “sets” of things. So,…I need it to finish my collection. I do agree that these movies get progressively lamer as they go!
    I would also take Underworld – the second one!

    I mean – I own Fast and the Furious 2 – what could be lamer than that!!??!!?

    Bitsy

    June 3, 2008 at 4:38 pm

  14. cairo is tricky…well, you know. i’ll be better after you explain it to me, paul. i love the family dinner. tara…you all look good. just wait until you have dinner with the abba’s!

    Mere

    June 3, 2008 at 5:58 pm


Leave a Reply

