MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#362 – Fired Teenager

with 10 comments

Welcome to June, everybody!

Quiznos should be really thankful that I did not rob them. Or eat their entire stash of side pickles. One of those options. Regardless, I had run of the store for a whole ten minutes and all I did was sway and listen to a string of profanities being sung outside about how the world sucks and managers are all just a bunch of Satanists. Ah, to be young again!

Question of the day: Have you ever been fired from a job before?

Me? Nope. Never have had to go through that process. Hope I never will as it doesn’t seem fun…

In writing news, Sporty Spec: Games of the Fantastic, which contains my futurepunk horseracing tale of woe “The Sport of Kings,” received a nice (though succinct) writeup from the Midwest Book Review. It recommends the anthology for community library collections, which is great news indeed! Go, sporty book, go!

Life is but a memory, happened long ago
Theater full of sadness, for a long forgotten show
Seems so easy, just to let it go on by
Till you stop and wonder, why you never wondered why

– “Fruit Tree” by Nick Drake

Written by Paul

June 2, 2008 at 12:03 am

Posted in business, comics, drama, food, gossip, idiots, review, writing

Tagged with , , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmm pickles.

    Wow… well that’s fairly eventful, I can’t say I’ve been fired or seen anyone get fired. The closest thing was that Michael’s didn’t rehire me when I came back from school, because they hired a bunch of new people–and one of the people they replaced me with stole about 1,500 dollars worth of crap-o-la, so seriously, that’s what happens, karma. HA. 😉

    But nope, never been fired, though I should be… for calling out of work. :\ See you tuesday!!! 🙂

    Tara

    June 2, 2008 at 12:07 am

  2. Nope, never been fired. Of course, I haven’t had too many jobs either and I’m a stay at home mom now… Sometimes I wish I could be fired from that one (kidding, sort of 😉 )

    girlydigs

    June 2, 2008 at 12:22 am

  3. Sheesh, fired from Quiznos? That would be the primo job to have as a teenager with all that awesome food around….

    And speaking of divine dining, I think I had some on Saturday too.

    Anyway, never been fired from a job that I can remember. Should have been for many transgressions (too many to name), but I’ve learned to clean up my act. Now that I think about it, I was “not hired back” one summer. Kind of a bummer to pay for the ren faire when you get used to going for free.

    TK42ONE

    June 2, 2008 at 9:55 am

  4. Fired – yup! I was fired from Walt Disney World, which is probably why Biff was blackballed when he applied.

    I am only missing like 5 creatures in the ACWW, 3 of which got away from me! I was KOed by a tarantula.

    In other exciting news, I made it to work with my car intact!

    Bitsy

    June 2, 2008 at 11:03 am

  5. Tara: Ha, karma indeed! They should’ve hired you back. I bet they are kicking themselves for it now. They lost out on a good worker and some fine eye candy. 😛

    Girly: Hee, are you kidding? Sort of? Maybe? Perhaps? But if you were fired from being a home mom…you’d have to, like, live in your car. Boo.

    TK: “Not hired back” is a like a passive-aggressive form of being fired. So, congrats!

    Bitsy: Yeah, those WDW bastards! Well, Mom and I still love ’em, but not those specific bastards! I wish you could donate to my town museum, but I guess that isn’t possible. Shark attack!

    Paul

    June 2, 2008 at 11:20 am

  6. Congrats on the positive blurb.

    And I totally would have eaten all their pickles, if only for making me wait.

    Never been fired. Can’t imagine I ever will be, but you never know I guess.

    1979semifinalist

    June 2, 2008 at 3:12 pm

  7. Mm too kind, too kind–yes and congrats on the positive review (I knew I was forgetting something, although I believe I said something last night) You are practically famous! mm, and we have a date tomorrow–tuesday 🙂

    Tara

    June 2, 2008 at 3:41 pm

  8. never been fired myself. i did get to a new city….it is cairo!!!

    Mere

    June 2, 2008 at 6:47 pm

  9. Kelly: Thanks for the ‘grats!

    Tara: Hey, it’s almost Tuesday!

    Mere: Ooooooh, I can’t wait for summer vacation so I can brain voyage more. How is Cairo?

    Paul

    June 2, 2008 at 10:23 pm

  10. […] And it’s good I did because I got to witness a teenager getting fired. Always a fun time! […]


Leave a Reply

