MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#360 – Unrecognizable Woman

with 11 comments

…and only about a few hours ago, as I was drawing this comic, did I realize who she was. She used to work in the mailroom at Richard Stockton College of NJ when I was a slave employee there. I used to say hello to her five days a week for like forever. I guess we never really learned each other’s names though. Our relationship was thus: I walked up to the counter, smiled, she gave me the day’s mail, I left. Anyways, if she somehow stumbles over here…hello! Give me my mail now!

In other news, I’ve put my writing blog Wistful Writings on official hiatus. I can’t really manage both of these sites, and the truth is I’m done with writing about writing. For the most part. I will share news when it happens, of course. That said, here’s what short stories I’m having published in 2008/2009 so far:

* “So Go the Seasons” – forthcoming in Black Gate (???).
* “Pigment” – forthcoming in Farrago’s Wainscot, Issue 8 (October 2008).
* “Imaginary Puissance” – forthcoming in Fictitious Force (???).
* “The Feet Eaters” – originally published in Aberrant Dreams (January 2007), this is being re-printed in Aberrant Dreams I, The Awakening — Anthology (August 2008), which should be in actual bookstores if I remember correctly.

So, there you go. My spout of self-promotion. Don’t worry…it doesn’t happen often. D, you already know the story of “So Go the Seasons” since I, in a Sangria-induced daze, told you it in its entirety.

Wow, it’s already Thursday. Huh, how ’bout that?

You’ll never take this stop to make amends that we can’t meet
You’re starting over to remember who you were
Wasting everything on what you’re living for
I know the reason and there’s just no reason

– “One Shot, Two Shots” by The Format

Written by Paul

May 29, 2008 at 12:00 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oi, I hate when that happens–and it happens most often at work. It is always the case that you realize who it was well after the matter.

    ooOoo getting published! I read the feet eaters, it was superb, and I can’t wait to see it in print! I’ve only read a few of your stories and I long for moooore! This calls for me to visit so you can show me your collection, then I can read, and we can eat brownies…that will hopefully make the drive….. 😉

    See you on Friday 😀 Oh wow, friday is tomorrow, technically 🙂 hooray!

    Tara

    May 29, 2008 at 12:13 am

  2. Hehe! Don’t you just hate that! It’s even worse when the other person obviously recognizes you and even calls you by your name but you can’t remember who they are! Congrats on getting published!

    girlydigs

    May 29, 2008 at 12:34 am

  3. People tell me I look like someone they know all the time! I must have a very “familiar” looking face or something. It’s guys, gals, all ages, all colors, even kids sometimes. One lady swore I used to date her son (her son is like 20 yrs younger than me.) It’s really strange.

    treenieweenie

    May 29, 2008 at 8:55 am

  4. I’ve got kids and parents and siblings to contend with. I remember a good amount of those who were in my class over the years. But these little kids come running up, “Ms. A!, Ms. A!” I SWEAR I’ve never seen them before!!

    Today is Thursday but it is my Friday. Yipee!

    And good, I was sick of checking out your WW site only to find nada!

    Bitsy

    May 29, 2008 at 9:26 am

  5. I get a kick out of people that know me. I couldn’t give a rip about them, but somehow they know me.

    And a “scheduled post” just means that you’ve created a post that will appear in the future. So if you change the time and date on a post in Blogger, you can make it appear two days (or weeks) after you’ve written it and hit that little “publish” button. I use it a lot now that I know what it does.

    Thank God it’s Thursday. Had a shitty night and I fear things will just get worse as the day progresses. Trying to stay positive but it’s too much fun being a grouch.

    TK42ONE

    May 29, 2008 at 9:27 am

  6. Tara: I know, I spent the whole afternoon trying to figure out who this woman was…and then nothing! Gah! But at least I know now. It would’ve bothered me forever…

    Girlydigs: Heh, that is much worse when someone is like, “Hey, Paul!” and all I can do is stare and slowly respond with, “Hey, you!” 😛

    Trina: Ohhh I wonder if we bumped into each other we would think the other is familiar too.

    Bitsy: Dang kids! Always making noises. How’s the four-leaf clover working out?

    TK: Ahhh, yeah but the scheduled post didn’t work for me when I set the time for 9:00 pm. I had to go in and change the date to 5/27/08 just to get it to work. But I can see the benefit of that…hope your day gets better!

    Paul

    May 29, 2008 at 9:54 am

  7. I’ve had a lot of people say that I look familiar– some man said I looked like his wife, some woman said I looked like her daughter, and then a lot of people call me “KATE”…thinking that I am my sister. That happens more often than not. I really don’t see the striking resemblance that everyone else seems to see. I guess that is normal with siblings.

    Another instance I just remembered was back in high school and I was walking through the mall. Some kid passes me and within two seconds runs back and almost tackles me! He’s like “Korey???” and I’m like…. “No, sorry.”

    I surely hope this Korey he spoke of was a girl.

    Tara

    May 29, 2008 at 12:38 pm

  8. Four leaf clover might work in ACWW,, but not in real life! Today I had another flat tire, on the one tire they didn’t replace. So it was back to the shop and finding rides!

    Bitsy

    May 29, 2008 at 1:11 pm

  9. Sorry, Paul. I must have had too much sangria too. The story is fuzzy to me…I guess I will have to “re-read” it when its published 😉

    I was the best slave driver (I mean boss) ever!

    D

    May 29, 2008 at 3:35 pm

  10. I’m sad to see Wistful Writings go on hiatus, though I understand why you have trouble keeping up with two blogs, which is the reason I don’t have a separate site for Rabid Lamb (though this has it’s own complications).

    Can you at least give us some writing updates on a semi-regular/frequent basis in your “talking paragraph” below your comic as you did today? That would be a happy medium for me…and we all know it’s all about ME. 🙂

    1979semifinalist

    May 29, 2008 at 4:27 pm

  11. Kelly: But of course I will! But only cause ya asked me so nicely. 😛

    Paul

    May 29, 2008 at 11:02 pm


Leave a Reply

