MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#357 – Recession Check

with 8 comments

Officially my second letter stating that my check was coming soon. Gee, thanks. How ’bout you just send me the check, IRS people? Hmm? Well, the letter said I should be getting it by today though I won’t be able to check my mail until I return to my apartment late Monday. So, really, it doesn’t matter. For now. I’m still not spending the money in my head until I have the actual check in my hands…but I’m toying with the idea of a laptop (cause it really is silly for me to think I’d ever buy a new videogame system when I barely have time to play anything nowadays as is)…

The weekend is here. Yay! I have Monday off from worky work, which means no new comic until Tuesday. As they’d say in that big British land across the pond, I’m taking a holiday. I’m also making the big drive down to South Jersey to enjoy the next three days with Momma Dukes, Dadster, and D. There will be wine and games and sleep and relaxing and DSing and just mmm doing a lot of nothing as well. Clearly, I’m excited.

But what about y’all? Any big plans for the Memorial Day weekend?

Over here the ladies all want sweet perfume
But there’s never a rose
And over the roses are frightened to bloom
So they never can grow

– “Lost in the Habour” by Tom Waits

Written by Paul

May 23, 2008 at 12:00 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t you love it when the mail talks? Not only talks, but ridicules you? I should be expecting a letter like that soon (my PRAXIS results). (oi vey) I already know I bombed the math… ::grumble::

    Ahhh a new laptop? A mac would be nice, eh? They are more useful for those artistic types πŸ˜‰

    I hope you have fun this weekend! (drive safely) Give them my best, and wish your mummy well for me! Alles gutes zum Gebertstag, Mrs. A!

    Hmm… my plans include work on Sunday and Monday. Not too bad, considering I should be getting paid a bit more since Monday is a holiday! Ahh no comic ’til Tuesday? How shall I survive? πŸ™‚

    Tara

    May 23, 2008 at 12:10 am

  2. Can’t wait to see you (and beat you at ETC since I can’t win at Scrabble)

    D

    May 23, 2008 at 7:41 am

  3. Animating inanimate objects is always funny. We got a letter, then we got our money, then we got another letter saying we would be getting our money. Typical government efficiency.

    No big plans this weekend. Probably plant some more flowers, hang out by the pool, maybe even get in the pool. Oh, and read and drink wine. That’s a given on any weekend that I stay home.

    Sounds like you’ll be having a fun-filled weekend, Paul. It should give you plenty of comic fodder to make up for missing Monday!

    treenieweenie

    May 23, 2008 at 8:09 am

  4. Tara: I bet your PRAXIS letter will sing you a song in celebration! I’ll show Momma Dukes your German skills and make sure she gets it. πŸ˜›

    D: Mmm Etc is packed and ready to be played (with some wine, perhaps)!

    Trina: Ah, the government. Who knows what they are doing? Your weekend sounds very nice and relaxing, which are my favorite kind. Whatcha reading? I think you just finished Paper Cities, which my friend E. Sedia edited, yes?

    Paul

    May 23, 2008 at 9:24 am

  5. Hey Biff – I karaoked my heart out last night and am paying dearly today. I have a teacher day today – no more kids! and then am getting a well deserved pedicure.
    Tomorrow I am heading to the bash of all bashes – on my beach cruiser!
    Sunday I am going to a tarot card reading party.
    Monday I am living la vida loca with the lopez family. (though I will be missing my own)
    You better study your scrabble words, b/c I am coming to kiss some boot-ay.
    PS – My money came and went….on bills and the beach house!

    Bitsy

    May 23, 2008 at 10:27 am

  6. Paul, yep, recently finished Paper Cities. So, you and Ekaterina are pals? She did a fine job w/ Paper Cities; I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    I also read this past week, Softspoken by Lucius Shepard (and also very good.)

    This weekend, I plan on finishing my current read: Wee Tim’rous Beasties by Douglas English.

    And, Bitsy, I hope you mean to “kick” some boot-ay!

    treenieweenie

    May 23, 2008 at 10:46 am

  7. Haa!!!! I did mean KICK! (hungover is no good for typing!)

    Bitsy

    May 23, 2008 at 1:44 pm

  8. i got my letter AFTER i got my check. i thought they were sending me a SECOND check because taxes in jersey are so insane. lol.

    curlywurlygurly

    May 23, 2008 at 11:56 pm


Leave a Reply

