MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#355 – Books That Make Me Cry

with 8 comments

…and here’s why:

For A Separate Peace, it’s the moment Gene learns about Finny’s doleful fate.

For High Fidelity, it’s the part where Rob Fleming talks about his birthday plans for when he turns thirty-six (it involves renting Robocop 2) and the love only parents can really give back to their children.

For The Gold Cell, it’s the poem “Saturn,” which is about Sharon Olds’s father eating his children limb by limb.

Also, I hit a possum tonight with my car. Its fate is unknown. That makes me a bit weepy too. I didn’t mean it, little possum! You scared the frakking shit out of me and I had no time to brake!

Ugh, today’s post is BEYOND emo.

I’m sorry life isn’t perfect
but I promise we won’t starve
in a small dark apartment with big bright hearts

– “Don’t Try This at Home” by Punchline

Written by Paul

May 21, 2008 at 12:00 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. :\ I’m sure the possum forgives you, and if it wasn’t for me keeping you in my grasp for so long you probably wouldn’t have hit him (if you hit him at all) đŸ˜¦ ::sniff:: Don’t worry about it my dear, everything will be fine.

    I cry when reading books often, and yes, I did cry during High Fidelity… I really haven’t read that in awhile, I should really read it again. I have heard good things about a A Separate Peace, and by the sound of that poem by Sharon Old it seems like something I could relate to, not literally of course…

    Yes, hmmm…

    Tara

    May 21, 2008 at 12:12 am

  2. Yeah. Emo.

    Now if you said Glory (the movie) made you cry, then you’d be a man.

    TK42ONE

    May 21, 2008 at 8:36 am

  3. Tara: I’m 97% positive I hit the possum. What happened afterwards, I dunno. Sharon Olds is my favorite poetry writer, and I absolutely can’t stand poetry. So I think that says something about her work…

    TK: I’ve never seen Glory. Do I want to be a man?

    Paul

    May 21, 2008 at 9:14 am

  4. What a girl! Also, the possum population needs to be controlled anyway- no guilt necessary.

    Cassia

    May 21, 2008 at 9:40 am

  5. LOVE a separate peace.

    LOVE.

    1979semifinalist

    May 21, 2008 at 10:06 am

  6. Bad news…I squished a squirrel today. Couldn’t help it. What was it doing in the middle of Route 80?! Anyway I’m consoling myself by thinking that it was like the Edith Keeler (Joan Collins) character in Star Trek episode 28: The City On the Edge Of Forever. It must die so that the Nazis won’t win the war and to restore the future as we know it.

    Pamalamadingdong

    May 21, 2008 at 10:58 am

  7. I just read a jodi picoult book – my sister’s keeper. there is a tear jerker!

    Bitsy

    May 21, 2008 at 11:20 am

  8. Cass: I’m on my way to full-blown womanhood for sure!

    Kelly: I knew I liked you for a reason.

    PAM: Maybe your dead squirrel and my dead possum are playing with one another in roadkill heaven. Maybe! I like that more than the idea that they died to stop the Nazis. I don’t know why that is…

    Bitsy: Aw, yeah, she writes some sad books. Haven’t read that one yet though…

    Paul

    May 21, 2008 at 3:37 pm


Leave a Reply

