MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#353 – Picking a Movie

with 6 comments

Tough choice, yes?

I don’t have much to say because I worked myself like a dog today, drawing and coloring thingies, taking only small breaks to watch some of the Indiana Jones marathon that was on this afternoon. I still say that The Temple of Doom is the best, quickly followed by Raiders of the Lost Ark, and then, distantly, oh so distantly, trailing like a dying beast that is slowly succumbing to a mixture of exhaustion and dehydration, is The Last Crusade. It’s too campy…even for me. Sean Connery alone does not make a film great.

And I don’t know about this new one, this Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. My Spider Sense is tingling, warning me that my childhood nostalgia is in danger. We’ll see…

Snakes! Why’d it have to be snakes?!

That is all.

They were looking for me when I came to
They were looking for me when I came back
Said, “Hey you, you’re looking very suspicious”
I said, “Relax man get off my back”

– “Open Up” by Dispatch

Written by Paul

May 19, 2008 at 12:02 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha yes! And to think, I was going to leave that one in my sister’s room because I knew we weren’t going to watch it! Who knew it would be one of your top choices?!

    ..and soon after was like 15 minutes, there was a lot of drama going on in sister Katie’s room. ::sigh:: Facebook drama at that! ::double sigh:: Well, now you know my sister :p

    Yes, yes Almost Famous was a good choice.

    … and I agree, Temple of Doom, Raiders, then the Last Crusade is the order that I prefer them. The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull….I’m really not sure…I know I’m going to have to see it at some point, but I believe that if I go in expecting the worst, there is nowhere for my expectations to go but UP (right??), so we shall see.

    Tara

    May 19, 2008 at 12:12 am

  2. Wow. I totally disgree on the Indian Jones order, for me it is: Last Crusade (by far); Temple of Doom; then Raiders. If it wasn’t for the totally unappealing and annoying (and highly unattractive) presence of Karen Allen (Marion Ravenwood) I would probably totally reverse my order…she just ruins it for me. Which is sad because the character is of Marion Ravenwood is awesome, but Karen Allen is just blech…

    Sidenote: Love the comic today.

    1979semifinalist

    May 19, 2008 at 9:57 am

  3. Nice shirt (Tara’s not your Paulie)!

    Almost Famous is good. Saw Juno this weekend and it was funny at times, but not quite the “catch” everyone said it was.

    As for the Jones set, well, that’s like choosing the best Back to the Future movie. I’d have to say I like them in the order they came out mostly, but may put some extra weight on Last Crusade over Temple of Doom due to some residual heebeejeebiees from seeing a beating heart pulled out of a guys chest when you’re a kid.

    TK42ONE

    May 19, 2008 at 10:04 am

  4. For me it was all about Sean Patrick Flannery w/ the Young Indiana Jones Chronicles. Forget the real thing! I think I liked all the movies about the same – I haven’t got really strong opinions on this…
    3 1/2 more days of work!!!!

    Bitsy

    May 19, 2008 at 10:17 am

  5. Tara: The pilates video looked a little bit too much like a chick flick. 😉 I’m sure it would’ve been good either way. I hope I never have to experience Facebook drama. It sounds…anticlimactic.

    Kelly: Ha! Yeah, we’re on opposite sides of the globe here. I always thought Marion, the character and actress, was the most attractive of all the Jones women. Maybe that’s just cause I don’t find blonds to be anything special? Thanks for the comic love though!

    TK: Pffft, my shirt is just as nice and you know it! But yeah, Temple of Doom is a very, very, very dark film compared to the others.

    Bitsy: Mmm, I remember watching that series with you. I wonder if it’s on DVD…

    Paul

    May 19, 2008 at 10:39 am

  6. Ooh – Birthday present maybe? I’d also like a pedicure. Send me some mon-ay!!!!

    Bitsy

    May 19, 2008 at 11:42 am


Leave a Reply

