MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#351 – I Ate Bacon

with 14 comments

Just so we’re on the same page, I’m talking about this. Not this. Also, I’m the worst lacto-ovo pescetarian that ever once was!

Not shown in the comic: Upon hearing about my latest adventure in eating, Tom stopped whatever he was talking about with whomever immediately to share his entire bacon-life story to us. When I tell you it was great, I mean it was beyond great. I’ve only ever seen such excitement in movies, where the children come bounding down the stairs, shrieking and shaking all because it is Christmas morning and Santa has done well. Anyways, Tom claims, and feel free to argue whether or not such a memory can exist, that he remembers the very first time he ever ate bacon at the age of three. Then came a list of the number of things one can do with bacon, as well as the numerous concoctions that something plus bacon can be born in no time at all. It really seemed to go on for hours when, in truth, it was only a handful of minutes. But that leads us to…

Question of the day: What do you like to put your bacon on? Don’t say cat.

And now I’m officially tired of the very word…

All the ships in the ocean
Outside my window
Under the moon
All the lights in the harbor
Keep me from sleeping
Keep me from dreaming

– “All That I Know” by The Get Up Kids

Written by Paul

May 15, 2008 at 12:01 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha Aw, yeah his nice bacon life story. I wonder when I first had bacon, to be honest I really don’t remember. I do recall liking it I’m sure. So, I lead you to your demise by making you bacon, I believe I was called a sorceress for getting you to eat bacon. I’m kind of surprised, if I knew it was such a feat I would have made a bigger deal out of it :p Well, now Mr. Tom can make you bacon!

    What do I like to put bacon on? I think I mentioned bacon pizza, that is mighty tasty. Also, chicken–I put some cheddar cheese and bacon on top of it, mmmmm mm. Hmmm what else…I’m sure there are many things you could put bacon on… baked potato! OK, I could go on for days.

    Speaking of OK, apparently, so I’m told, came about through Martin Van Buren, who was known as Old Kinderhook, (OK) HA so yeah… he made everything..OK heh. OK well I had WAY too much coffee tonight. Whew.

    So, bacon πŸ™‚ a word that you have grown weary of. It’s a good thing, as long as it’s not soggy. One must burn it if need be.

    Tara

    May 15, 2008 at 12:14 am

  2. Bacon rules! The smell is enticing alone! I think my favorite thing with bacon is a BLT with jersey tomatoes. Yummo!

    D

    May 15, 2008 at 7:42 am

  3. Tara: What about bacon on chocolate? Blaaaaaargh. Thanks for the history lesson on OK! πŸ˜‰

    D: Ohhh, that sounds good too. Now I want one for lunches…

    Paul

    May 15, 2008 at 8:31 am

  4. I don’t eat meat. No fish, fowl, bacon, pig or cow.
    I won’t eat anything that can look at me. No worms.
    But *if* I had to ear bacon, I’d eat it with spinach.
    At least then, it’s have some nutrition. I could hide
    the bacon under the spinach, and pretend it wasn’t there.

    Seraphine

    May 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

  5. bacon is awesome. love it. wish i didn’t. bacon wrapped scallops are awesome. but so is bacon with eggs and english muffins. ooh ooh – or a BLT!

    1979semifinalist

    May 15, 2008 at 10:08 am

  6. I remember the BLTs! I think the last time I had bacon was at CPK, where I had a goat cheese and roasted red pepper pizza with applewood smoked bacon. It was super good. Buuuutttt, just this week I watched Fast Food Nation, which then led me to reread the book and I got to feeling all sorry for the piggies and the cows and the chickens. So for a week I have had no meat, no cheese, no eggs. Just fruit, veggies, bread, and nuts. Maybe I am back on the veggie train that you fell off, Biff?

    Bitsy

    May 15, 2008 at 10:23 am

  7. I like it on cheeseburgers- the ultimate meat eaters treat.

    Cassia

    May 15, 2008 at 10:37 am

  8. There’s bacon that’s meh and then there’s bacon that’s oh-my-god-that-was-close-to-an-orgasm-it-was-so-good.

    I had the later type this morning as I usually do every Thursday. I’m a usual at a local eatery that has the BEST. BACON. EVER.

    Of course I had eggs, english muffin, and potatoes as well. And while I’ll eat bacon on other foods (cheeseburger, salad, pizza, etc.) I feel that to truly taste the greatness of the bacon, it needs to be eaten separately. But not last. If you eat it last, it’s going to drive you crazy that you’re not eating more.

    TK42ONE

    May 15, 2008 at 11:05 am

  9. Paul – are you sure you didn’t mean THIS kind of bacon?

    http://www.seriouseats.com/required_eating/2008/04/bacon-bra-brassiere-womens-edible-underwear.html

    eww. gross.

    1979semifinalist

    May 15, 2008 at 2:03 pm

  10. ::shudders::

    Errr, no thank you!

    Paul

    May 15, 2008 at 2:53 pm

  11. i lurve bacon…i think there should be bacon-flavored gum. i’m going to approach hubba bubba with my idea and will let you know what they say. πŸ™‚

    curlywurlygurly

    May 15, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  12. My friend went to some Voodoo Doughnut place and had a maple bacon doughnut!

    Bitsy

    May 16, 2008 at 12:16 am

  13. Curly: Ha bacon-flavored gum sounds kind of scary though! Keep us up-to-date though on your world domination plans. πŸ˜‰

    Bitsy: Yuck!

    Paul

    May 16, 2008 at 8:45 am

  14. You cant eat bacon without teeth. Get dental implants if you have no teeth and start enjoying food again http://www.drscharf.com

    topgum2

    May 16, 2008 at 11:57 am


Leave a Reply

