MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#345 – Books Are Heavy

with 15 comments

Did you know? Really, did you?

I actually said it a second time, again to Pam. As if I had just discovered the most profound of discoveries of our time. That yes, as a whole, when packed into boxes, books are heavy. Seriously, people. I have my smart days and my…hmm, other days. I’d blame it on being wiped out from watching Penny all day, but really that’s like me blaming the houseplants for being too needy or something.

I do not look forward to ever packing up my books. According to my GoodReads profile, I have over 350. Ugh. I wonder if they’ll be heavy. Don’t answer that.

Question of the day: What’s the last book you bought?

Mine would be Infinite Dreams by Joe Haldeman, which I’ve yet to get to. Grrr…

When the wind died down
you found yourself out drifting
in a ship whose sails weren’t big enough
to carry you and all the extra weight

– “Ships” by Tyler Ramsey

Written by Paul

May 7, 2008 at 12:02 am

Posted in books, comics, life, musings

Tagged with ,

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm books most certainly ARE heavy, they are the heaviest boxes I had to lug downstairs to pack when I was leaving school to come back to Jersey. 5 boxes, perhaps more consisted of books, particularly heavy ones at that.

    Sadly, the last book I bought was for school. Some 100 dollar text book that I only got 6 bucks for when I did finally sell it back to them… pft. :\

    I’d like to catch up on my reading this summer, but it is doubtful… here’s hoping! 🙂 Gotta get on that TP summer we have planned out! 🙂

    Oh Berlin 67

    May 7, 2008 at 12:29 am

  2. The last book was the Golden Compass trilogy at Target a week or so ago. No wait, it was the 60 dollars in children’s books from the 1/2 price book store.
    As for moving books – we have to box up our entire classroom for the carpeters and painters. Then I will have to cart them to my new room. That’s a lot of boxes.

    in other news:
    I got a catfish, guppy, and an angelfish. Just need a snail.

    bitsy

    May 7, 2008 at 1:02 am

  3. I’m a notorious book buyer and book borrower from friends. I do not go to the library (I’m so bad.) Last book purchased was the Kite Runner in March and last book borrowed was the Beach (which I am half way through)

    D

    May 7, 2008 at 6:29 am

  4. Tara: Oh no, the last book you bought was an expensive non-fiction one??? You need to rectify this immediately! Are you going to try that vampire series?

    Bitsy: I caught a guppy. No time for anything else!

    D: Ohhh The Beach really is a quick read! Hope you’re liking it.

    Paul

    May 7, 2008 at 8:41 am

  5. I donated all of my books (nearly all were hardbacks) to charity back in 2000 before we moved into the new house. Still had to box them up and put them on the porch. Yeah, books are heavy. Real heavy.

    The last book I bought (I usually just get them from the library) was a couple of weeks ago: Wee Tim’rous Beasties.

    treenieweenie

    May 7, 2008 at 8:49 am

  6. I have TONS of books, AND tons of comic books, which are also surprisingly heavy when jam packed into comic book boxes. The real problem though is that between Adam and I we have an even more insane amount…I do not look forward to the day we move. The last book I bought was Yannick Murphy’s In A Bear’s Eye. The last book Adam bought for me (more recently) was Jeffrey Brown’s new book Little Things, which was excellent.

    1979semifinalist

    May 7, 2008 at 9:42 am

  7. “Women of the Caesars”. Yup…a whole dollar from the Hunterdon County Library sale. Written around 1910.

    Pamalamadingdong

    May 7, 2008 at 1:47 pm

  8. Yeah, we don’t need to go and weigh my collection. I might cry at how much I have invested.

    My latest book was Chabon’s Yiddish Policemen’s Union on audio. I think the last print book I bought was The Cipher.

    TK42ONE

    May 7, 2008 at 2:47 pm

  9. Much like Tara, the last book I bought was most likely for one of my college courses. I believe it was Basic Arrhythmias, which is a Telemetry book.

    Other than that, I also bought Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb second-hand(where I do most of my book shopping), but I’ve yet to crack any books for the last two months. Damn school.

    tgjason

    May 7, 2008 at 3:44 pm

  10. Hmm I’m not too sure about the vampire books, I’ve heard nothing but good things but we shall see. I am thinking my next big book purchase will be getting some repeats of the favorites because they are getting old :\ Also, I’ll be spending a good amount at the church carnival this summer (50 cents for a book, I believe a dollar if it’s hardcover), it takes a bit to find the good ones but I enjoy looking (not to mention being surrounded by the smell of old books). mmmm

    Oh Berlin 67

    May 7, 2008 at 5:06 pm

  11. ps. my college textbook that I had to pay big money for was my educational Psychology book, because I’ll never ever use it. My art textbooks however, which lay in the same price range, will find much use in the classroom I’d imagine. My students will hate me, and my art history lessons.

    Oh Berlin 67

    May 7, 2008 at 5:09 pm

  12. You know all about my book problem… But I am trying to simplify and declutter. Sold some at a garage sale and donate those unsold. Last book I bought was the 25th anniversary edition of The Silver Palate Cookbook. And MY salmon mousse never killed anyone!

    Lisa

    May 7, 2008 at 5:44 pm

  13. Trina: Aw, that’s good of you to donate them before you moved! That’s definitely something I could never do, unfortunately.

    Kelly: Mmm I’m going to have to look for more Jeffrey Brown work soon. “Clumsy” was just so good and a really fast read.

    PAM: Heh, that’s an excellent buy! I liked the one lady picture I saw in it.

    TK: Well are you moving into audio-only books now? If so, that will lighten the load.

    tgjason: You know, I’ve yet to read a Hobb book. I’m positive I’d like them, cause epic fantasy is mmm nice, but just haven’t gotten to any yet.

    Tara: Oooooh 50 cent paperbacks and $1.00 hardcovers! I love searching for hidden treasures, so to speak. Old books are the best. If I ever get a book published I’m going to ask that it be published in 1978.

    Lisa: Salmon…mousse? We’re talking about fish here? :/

    Paul

    May 7, 2008 at 8:34 pm

  14. Don’t knock till you try it, baby. It’s one of my most requested dishes, along with cheesecake, which you may be allowed to have very soon, if you play nice.

    Lisa

    May 7, 2008 at 11:22 pm

  15. Mmmmm I’d like some cheesecake please.

    :: plays nice ::

    Paul

    May 8, 2008 at 12:07 am


Leave a Reply

