MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#338 – Reflection, with Dishes

with 13 comments

And with today’s comic strip, the integrity of MyLifeComics goes down a notch. Not a big notch, but a smidgen. That’s what I get for thinking too much while washing the dishes…

I also hope you get the title. It’s meant to be a parody of things like “Dog, with Bowl” and “Still Life, with Fruit”. That comma has a purpose, I tell you. It is meant to be looked upon, it is meant to be paused on. At least for comic effect. Bah, nevermind. Bunch of simpletons.

If you’re wondering what happened the morning after in the hotel room in New York (and I know you all are!), well…nothing happened. We “woke” up, made like zombies and got ready, and then walked back to the convention center where I made my grand departure. From there, I took the ferry home and then proceeded to slip into a 6-hour coma. So, yeah. Not much to be missed.

It’s cold and rainy here. How’s your Monday so far?

We know of an ancient radiation
That haunts dismembered constellations,
A faintly glimmering radio station.
While Frank Sinatra sings “Stormy Weather,”
The flies and spiders get along together,
Cobwebs fall on an old skipping record.

– “Frank Sinatra” by Cake

Written by Paul

April 28, 2008 at 8:40 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Um, sorry, I never even noticed your comics had titles.

    So far, my Monday morning is going okay. Looks a little dreary outside, but it’s not raining (yet anyway.)

    treenieweenie

    April 28, 2008 at 8:53 am

  2. My morning so far…Couldn’t sleep so I mopped the kitchen floor (and no, this is not a euphamism for anything). Now I am at work eating a giant bagel and slurping down my fair share of coffee. Enjoy your day!

    Cassia

    April 28, 2008 at 9:02 am

  3. No rain here! Cassie – come mop the floor at my place!
    My silkworms are dwindling in number as they all make their little coccoons! Finally, I can stop going to the park to steal leaves!
    Biff – I left you information about the arboretum in Morristown. Maybe Cassie knows more about it!

    I cooked a bunch of chicken last night and just now realized that I forgot to wrap 1/2 of it up and put it in the fridge. It was on a plate and everything. Arghh…

    I read the Golden COmpass yesterday and am on page 97 of the Subtle Knife. So far, so good.

    bitsy

    April 28, 2008 at 10:13 am

  4. Washing dishes, in my opinion, leaves me with ample time to reflect on things.

    …yes our morning at comic con wasn’t very interesting. Not counting the grump in the room, you know who I’m talking about…boy did he get a stern talking to. >:\ but all in all sunday was boring and we stayed for about an hour and a half and then went home and sat uncomfortably on the train.

    It’s cold and rainy here as well, and I haven’t stepped outside yet but I’m getting ready to go to lunch. *stretch/yawn* : )

    Oh Berlin 67

    April 28, 2008 at 11:19 am

  5. Trina: The rain seems to have moved on now here. Maybe it is coming your way…

    Cass: Did you use your socks to mop the floor?

    Bitsy: Mmm The Golden Compass was good. Much better than the film version. Haven’t gotten to read the sequels yet! Let me know how they are!

    Tara: Much like showers, I get a lot of thinking done with the sound of running water. Hope you had a nice lunch and a cookie! 😛

    Paul

    April 28, 2008 at 1:04 pm

  6. If it was a reflection, would not the “SHSHSH” of the water be more like “HSHSHS”?

    And dishes is a perfect time to reflect. And watch TV. And totally brainwash your daughter into learning theme songs from TV shows (she’s learned M*A*S*H already and is working quickly on, shudder, Daniel Boone). And I usually realize I need to pee when I’m filling the bottles with water. That glug-glug gets me every time.

    Finally, Monday is cold and wet here as well. Damn rain.

    TK42ONE

    April 28, 2008 at 1:28 pm

  7. TK: The word for glug glug in french is glouglou. Think on that!

    Biff: For someone so well-read, how can you not read on to finish a trilogy? That isn’t like you!

    PS – I have a golden rose!

    bitsy

    April 28, 2008 at 2:44 pm

  8. I’m sick! So having said that, my Monday isn’t going so well so far; however, I know it’s going to get worse as I have an exam in my one of my night courses tonight. Man, talk about the perfect time to come down with something…

    tgjason

    April 28, 2008 at 5:50 pm

  9. TK: Are you going to teach her the theme song to Fraggle Rock?

    Bitsy: It’s all about time. Plus, I read very little in the winter. I will correct that problem once I can go to the park on a steady basis.

    tgjason: Good luck with the exam! I’m sure the rain isn’t helping though…

    Paul

    April 28, 2008 at 7:59 pm

  10. Not good. My dog died. 😦 I feel blue.

    Lisa

    April 29, 2008 at 6:40 am

  11. I’m very sorry to hear that, Lisa. 😦

    He lived a nice long life though.

    Paul

    April 29, 2008 at 9:37 am

  12. Yep. Thanks.

    Lisa

    April 29, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  13. Lisa: Aw, my condolences to you 😦 I’m really sorry to hear that 😦

    Oh Berlin 67

    April 29, 2008 at 11:20 pm


Leave a Reply

