MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#329 – No Carding

with 13 comments

Three days until NY Comic Con 08. Still trying to figure things out. Hoping for the best. Weally, weally, weally hoping for the best. I got my fingers and toes crossed. Not my eyes, that gives me a headache.

Question of the Day: I know I’ll upset some people with this, but toooooo bad. When was the last time you were carded buying liquor?

To the opium den and the barroom gin
In the Belmont chair playing violins
The gambler’s face cracks into a grin
As he lays down the king of spades

– “The Card Cheat” by The Clash

Written by Paul

April 16, 2008 at 8:36 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The microphones you’ve placed in and around my cube must be working fine. As you no doubt heard me talking about this same issue yesterday, I’ll repeat the gist of the conversation for those outside of your spying realm.

    I recently purchased a six pack (of Smirnoff, I’m a cheap date – a VERY cheap date) at Sheetz and was preparing to show my ID when I realized I probably looked old enough. Sure enough, the grey hairs worked in my favor and I was not carded. The last time I was carded was so long ago, I don’t remember. But, part of that is because I don’t buy booze very often. Like I said, I’m a cheap date.

    TK42ONE

    April 16, 2008 at 9:06 am

  2. I was carded last year. But I didn’t get all excited. It was a new cashier or system or something–they were carding everyone.

    So, I guess that doesn’t really count.

    I don’t know.

    What kind of booze has a parrot on the label?

    treenieweenie

    April 16, 2008 at 9:19 am

  3. TK: You ARE a cheap date! If you were a girl and lived in New Jersey I’d take you out for Smirnoffs and an animated movie.

    I don’t want gray hair. :/

    Treenie: Wine, baby! Wine labels are the best. They range from koala bears to kangaroos to parrots to big, red trucks. It is amazing to look at.

    Paul

    April 16, 2008 at 9:35 am

  4. I haven’t been carded for liquor lately, but a couple months ago I got carded for lottery tickets…isn’t the age requirement for that 18? Unn baby! I look 18! Not really. At all.

    1979semifinalist

    April 16, 2008 at 10:08 am

  5. I went to Trader Joe’s and the flirty checkout boy wanted my ID and Anne’s. I guess they have a lot of underage kids going for the 2 buck chuck. it’s the new boone’s, you know!

    I went to fry’s 2 days ago and bought lots and the lady never looked at me, let alone carded me.

    bitsy

    April 16, 2008 at 10:43 am

  6. No comment

    D

    April 16, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  7. Kelly: Unn, 18! I don’t know what the age for lottery tickets is. I’ve never bought any.

    Bitsy: Two buck chuck! You should sneak some home in the summer so we can get wasted on the porch and yell things at shoobies that pass by.

    D: Hah! I mean…aw!

    Paul

    April 16, 2008 at 4:19 pm

  8. Wow, is it only three days? I don’t even have anything done! *smacks self* I’m not sure about that ivy, putting it on and keeping it on there will probably be a hassle.

    Oh Berlin 67

    April 16, 2008 at 5:49 pm

  9. You know there is a theory that all wine with an animal on the label is amazing… It’s probably not a good theory, but it still counts.

    leafprobably

    April 16, 2008 at 6:04 pm

  10. Berlin: Your options are to staple it, glue it, or weld it. You can’t be Poison Ivy without no ivy. 😛

    Leaf: I like that theory! So far…parrot wine and kangaroo wine has ruled!

    Paul

    April 16, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  11. I’m 29, and still get carded all the time. Though, i will be sad when it ends.

    kristiane

    April 17, 2008 at 1:56 pm

  12. Wow and you don’t have a beard! I must know your secret. I’d like to be carded more often. 😛

    Paul

    April 17, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  13. A while back I started brewing my own wine, I have really started getting into it and now actually sell my wine to friends and family. I wanted to add that extra touch to my wine so I designed my own wine labels and had them printed by a british labels company who did a excellent job. It has made my wine bottle look really great!

    TheWhiteSeal

    May 1, 2008 at 8:30 am


Leave a Reply

