MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#328 – Reader Responses

with 16 comments

So, I was looking at my scanned in line art for this week’s comics and I thought, “Hmm, if I color all of these it’ll take me all night long. If I just do black and white I can be done in 15 minutes and then spend the rest of the night farting around on the Interweb.”

Guess which option I picked.

Monday brought me some nice mail, which I conveniently placed on top of the not-so-nice mail:

I got my contributor copies for Kaleidotrope #4, which is publishing my short story “She’s a Hearth,” as well as a freebie from High Maintenance Machine since I entered his contest. Now to find a place to put that sticker…

***ATTENTION*** ***ATTENTION***
I really really really really want to go to the New York Comic Con this Saturday, April 19th. Someone please go with me so I don’t have to take the ferry or train into the city by myself. If I end up doing that, I will most assuredly get mugged, shot, and then die all alone in a heap of trash. In that order. So please, you know you want to geek out with moi.

Written by Paul

April 15, 2008 at 8:40 am

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t remember any negative comments last week. I think you’re exaggerating-surely the good bar should be towering over a very flat bad bar on your graph.

    I would love to go to the New York Comic Con and get my geek on! Even though I’m not big into comics, I think it would be fun to go at least once and check it out. Plus I haven’t been to New York in forever. But, I’m waaaaaay down here in ol Virginny. And on Saturday, I’ll be even further south in ol North Cackalackey (hopefully diving!) Maybe Damon from FBS is going?

    treenieweenie

    April 15, 2008 at 8:52 am

  2. Treenie: Nah, these remarks weren’t left on the website.

    I went with Damon last year to the show, but I’m pretty sure he hates me cause I gave up on the Greenhorn webcomic.

    Paul

    April 15, 2008 at 9:06 am

  3. We are going early on Saturday and are driving in, if you want to help us out on a few things for FBS when we get there you can go with us.

    Damon

    April 15, 2008 at 9:42 am

  4. Trina – you try to go diving EVERY week. i hope you get to go!!!
    Biff – i can’t even pretend to want to go. Hope you find someone. Bigger bribes other than your well-being could help. Something like – I will pay for your ticket or buy your lunch or a beer or wash your dog….

    bitsy

    April 15, 2008 at 9:45 am

  5. Damon: Emailing you in a minute!

    Bitsy: Okay. How about this? I’ll give you a golden watering can if you come to Comic Con with me? 😛

    Paul

    April 15, 2008 at 9:59 am

  6. Are you going to dress up like a superhero?

    Cassia

    April 15, 2008 at 11:04 am

  7. No color?! What the HELL!? Damn lazy ass comic artist….

    I did like the chart though. Made it look very much like a meeting at work. Maybe you could color only certain parts to add emphasis? Like Schindler’s List?

    TK42ONE

    April 15, 2008 at 11:11 am

  8. Cass: Alas, no. The P-Man will not be making an appearance. But I will be going as my alter ego…Paul.

    TK: Dang right I’m lazy!

    Paul

    April 15, 2008 at 11:23 am

  9. So glad it sounds like you’ll be in NYC…I wish I could join you there, but one of my best friends, who lives in London now is in town for the weekend and I’m pretty sure that the Comic-Con rates pretty low on his list of nyc to-dos (i.e. it’s not even on the list).

    Have a great time – and I hope to read some good comics as a result!

    Also, nyc is almost like Disneyland these days it’s so safe.

    1979semifinalist

    April 15, 2008 at 11:34 am

  10. Umm, anybody want to get me a signed copy of Dead To Me by Anton Stout? Anybody? Bueller? Bueller?

    http://antonstrout.livejournal.com/307557.html

    TK42ONE

    April 15, 2008 at 12:03 pm

  11. Ah yes it’s me!

    I would offer you a ride although I believe we’re staying ’til Sunday and I wouldn’t think you’d want to drive to sparta to only then go to the city. To be honest I have no idea HOW we are getting into the city to begin with. The fella that is in charge of that is not telling me anything. I shall let you know!

    Oh Berlin 67

    April 15, 2008 at 4:03 pm

  12. Kelly: Aw, I was gonna see if you were gonna be there or not, too!

    TK: If I’m there, I’ll def be swinging by all the book publisher booths.

    Berlin: Hiiiiiiiiii! Well, I don’t want to be a moocher! I’m still looking around for options. My friend Dave might be able to go with me Sat evening. I dunno yet. I, too, shall let you know.

    Paul

    April 15, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  13. I’ve liked manga more than comics for the past half decade or so and because of that I’m all for seeing your work stay black and white. I also want to geek out, I’ve still never been to a comic con and really want to go sometime soon!

    tgjason

    April 15, 2008 at 4:42 pm

  14. Ooooh well if you like manga then Comic Con is a pretty good spot! Last year they had a kickass Tokyopop section. Mmm…

    Paul

    April 15, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  15. I thought the comics from last week were fine. Good even…

    leafprobably

    April 16, 2008 at 12:37 am

  16. Well thank you, leaf! Much appreciated. 🙂

    Paul

    April 16, 2008 at 8:29 am


Leave a Reply

