MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#325 – Getting Married

with 18 comments

I knew what the ring meant. I just wanted to hear Pamalamadingdong say it. Regardless, big congratulations to the both of them!

Today’s question: How many weddings have you been to in your lifetime?

My answer is…hmm, three. Maybe four, but that’s pushing it.

There’s a lot I will never do
Some fantastic, I know it’s true
But none as much as my want to be with you

– “Some Fantastic” by The Barenaked Ladies

Written by Paul

April 10, 2008 at 8:32 am

Posted in love, relationships

Tagged with ,

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats, Pam & Tom…even though I don’t know you, I hope you have a wonderful and long marriage!

    Don’t get me started on weddings, though! Funny, how you never hear from some people or people who you are just bare acquaintances with will remember you when it comes time to send out wedding invites. I stopped feeling obligated to attend the weddings of these such people a long time ago, and simply send back the RSVP card with a little zero and a brief handwritten note saying sorry can’t make it.

    Of course, the weddings of family and close friends are an altogether different affair. Those are usually lots of fun and turn into a reunion of sorts.

    Trina

    April 10, 2008 at 9:25 am

  2. Congrats Pam & Tom…that’s great news.

    As for weddings, I think I’ve been to nine in my entire life, which isn’t too bad, except for that five or six of these were within the last five years…which does not bode well for the future…

    1979semifinalist

    April 10, 2008 at 10:07 am

  3. It’s too early in the morning to think of the number of weddings I’ve attended. I am going to one in July, though!

    Congrats to Pam and Tom!

    Bitsy

    April 10, 2008 at 10:12 am

  4. We’re having a BBQ in the backyard and a justice of the peace. I’m wearing shorts and berks. With all the awesome musical people we know I forsee a jam happening sometime in the evening. Thank you everyone for all your well wishes!

    Pamalamadingdong

    April 10, 2008 at 10:13 am

  5. Trina: Yea, this is the sort of wedding I’m looking forward to! Casual BBQ in the backyard. Woo! No penguin suit for me!

    Kelly: Why does that not bode well?

    Bitsy: Yes, yes you are. July is a very busy month for you.

    PAM: I’m going to see you a sweet song. Maybe a Weird Al cover. How ’bout that?

    Paul

    April 10, 2008 at 10:33 am

  6. Weird Al is playing July 23 at the Scranton Cultural Center…only 40 minutes from our house.

    Pamalamadingdong

    April 10, 2008 at 11:11 am

  7. Pam-that’s exactly what we did! A BBQ in the backyard with the justice of the peace (Aug 7 too many years ago.) It was so much fun.

    A good friend made our wedding cake. It was beautiful (especially considering it was the first one she had done.) It had several tiers with lovely peachy-colored roses cascading down the sides. Then, after a few chicken wings and more than a few beers, a major cake fight broke out. At least I got pics of it when it was still beautiful looking!

    Trina

    April 10, 2008 at 11:13 am

  8. I’ve been to about 4 weddings, and enjoy the parties but can do without the pomp and ceremonies.

    It’s always great to see a couple in love (regardless of their marital status), despite my critique of the institution of marriage in general:

    http://99ppp.wordpress.com/2008/02/04/a-case-against-marriage/

    99ppp

    April 10, 2008 at 12:50 pm

  9. Why does someone have to take a happy announcement and make it into a grandstanding soapbox?

    Pamalamadingdong

    April 10, 2008 at 1:35 pm

  10. Cause the Internet is stupid! Let’s burn it down, Pam. We can roast hot dogs and tofu pups over its burning corpse.

    Paul

    April 10, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  11. I guess I should have clarified. I don’t really like going to weddings. Even the best of them…I’m just not that into it. I have nothing against marriage and have been to some great weddings, including my brother’s, but it’s just not high on my list and is often expensive and inconvenient timing. Particularly since with maybe one exception I have never lived in the same city/vicinity as the people getting married.

    So I guess I just meant that 50% of the weddings I’ve gone to have been in the last five years, which makes me think I’m going to be going to lots and lots more in the near future, since I’m that age where everyone is getting married or at least thinking about it. Speaking of, I have one in September. And again, not in Manhattan…sigh.

    1979semifinalist

    April 10, 2008 at 1:45 pm

  12. Well congrats to Pamalamadingdong (soon to be Pamalamatomtom)!

    Weddings attended. Hmm. Cousin Glenn (Catholic). Friend Mary (Catholic). My own (Catholic). Co-worker Marc (Pagan). Cousin Eric (Protestant). My sister-in-law Nicole (Protestant or Catholic, I don’t remember). And probably another 3 or 4 that I can’t recall at the moment. The question you should have asked was “Tell me a funny story about a wedding you went to.” Then I could tell you about cookie tables and burning incense.

    TK42ONE

    April 10, 2008 at 2:13 pm

  13. Kelly: Ahh gotcha. Yeah, I haven’t been to many, but I know they aren’t a fun time for me. Introverts and big flashy dance parties don’t really mix well. Of course, I like the food but you know, who doesn’t like food?

    TK: She’ll always be a dingdong to me!

    Paul

    April 10, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  14. The catered food at formal weddings typically sucks. That’s why backyard BBQ’s are the way to go!

    TK: Glad you attended your own wedding. That reminds me of a story…an hour before our wedding, the groom was nowhere to be found. He and his best buddy had gone out the night before and ended up in the hoosegow. Sure, we laugh about it…..now.

    So what are cookie tables? They’re not like those stupid buttons you got at work, are they?

    Trina

    April 10, 2008 at 3:33 pm

  15. Too many to really count.

    D

    April 10, 2008 at 4:30 pm

  16. D: I suspected you’d take the cake on this challenge. 😛

    Paul

    April 10, 2008 at 4:46 pm

  17. Yummm…tables made out of cookies…. There was a house made out of gingerbread but nothing good comes from that…or so my friend Gretal told me.

    Pamalamadingdong

    April 10, 2008 at 6:07 pm

  18. Been to more than a baker’s dozen. Usually lots of fun. Really looking forward to P & T’s BBQ. Bikini cole slaw wrestling, anyone?

    Lisa

    April 10, 2008 at 7:03 pm


Leave a Reply

