MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#320 – Ghost Hunters, the Card Game

with 10 comments

The card game, originally dubbed Ghost Hunters, is still a work-in-progress as it needs a little more playtesting (ahem) before I decide if it succeeds more than it fails. I’d call it a mix of the Star Wars CCG, the Lord of the Rings CCG, and Munchkin. D seemed to like it, but one-on-one proved to be no challenge for capturing ghosts, especially since once she got one under her belt the two that followed were like stealing candy for a baby ghost. So yeah, I have a few more ideas that I want to toy with, but I’m liking what I’ve got here and who knows, if I can get it further along I might just try and find someone to publish it…

Also, this isn’t the first game I’ve created on my own. Simply said, I have a lot of free time and little money. This is how I entertain myself…well, one of the ways. There’s also writing, drawing, and music-making. Okay, enough out of me. I need coffee.

Today’s question: What’s your favorite game (boardgame or otherwise) from your childhood?

Mine would be Mastermind. Bitsy and I used to play it all the time, despite me never being terribly great at it.

All at once the ghosts come back
Reeling in you now
What if they came down crushing
Remember when I used to play for
All of the loneliness that nobody
Notices now

– “#41” by Dave Matthews Band

Written by Paul

April 3, 2008 at 8:41 am

Posted in D, games, ghosts, musings

Tagged with , , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Favorite game as a kid. Didn’t really have any because I rarely played them. My Dad was a bit of a game hater and, being an only child living with his divorced father, I couldn’t exactly play Chutes and Ladders by myself. So I usually played with GI Joes. Sound effects and voices were my speciality. As I got older, I enjoyed double solitaire, king’s corners, and a few other card games. Still can’t play poker though.

    TK42ONE

    April 3, 2008 at 9:08 am

  2. My favorite was…”Hey Pa There’s a Goat on the Roof”. Not because it was a good game. I was just fascinated with the board and the tin cans. The most stressful game was “Perfection”

    http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/11371

    Pamalamadingdong

    April 3, 2008 at 9:30 am

  3. Hmmm, never heard of Mastermind or that Goat game. When I was real young, the games we played weren’t board games, but games like Ants in the Pants, Don’t Break the Ice, and Don’t Spill the Beans.

    From the time I was around 8 or so until Jr High, we used to spend hours playing Monopoly and Sorry on cold and/or rainy days. And Battleship–that was a lot of fun.

    In Jr High, my friends and I used to play Clue all of the time.

    Now, I usually play Scrabble with my nieces and nephews.

    Trina

    April 3, 2008 at 9:39 am

  4. CLUE!!!!!

    D

    April 3, 2008 at 9:50 am

  5. I liked Sorry! the best. Paul usually threw a tantrum somewhere during the game. What a sore loser!!!! JK!
    I agree that Perfection is tense! So was Operation!
    I liked setting off the mouse trap in … Mouse Trap, but didn’t love the game.

    Now it is Scrabble, scrabble, scrabble. Wait til you see my next tattoo! (I hope you aren’t reading this, Mom!)

    Bitsy

    April 3, 2008 at 9:56 am

  6. I loved Clue too! Only I hated guessing wrong & opening the envelope only to be kicked out of the game. Also, once I lost the leadpipe to my brother’s game, he would not play it with me anymore. Still, it was an easy game to cheat at, always a good thing.

    Tyrone

    April 3, 2008 at 10:13 am

  7. I used to love Mastermind, and Monopoly, and Clue, and Sorry, and Parcheesi, we played a lot of games. As an adult I love The New Yorker Game (which is AWESOME), and Trivial Puruit, and Pictionary, and Gobblet, and Taboo…and I could just go on and on and on…

    I love that you’ve created your own game…I did that once when I was a kid, but it was pretty lame, cause I was just a stupid creative kid 🙂

    1979semifinalist

    April 3, 2008 at 10:15 am

  8. I wish I was in NJ to playtest your games with you! And maybe also challenge you to some DS head-to-head action.

    In other news I used to like Clue, Life, but I loved Scrabble. I absolutely hate Monopoly with a burning passion, my older bro has always been too money smart and conniving for me; he also used to double my score in scrabble!

    tgjason

    April 3, 2008 at 6:26 pm

  9. TK: Oh man, I used to love King’s Corners! One of the several card games one can play solo.

    PAM: I can’t believe there’s a game about a goat on a roof…BSG tomorrow!!

    Trina: Clue is a classic one, but yay another Scrabble fan! Bitsy and I are fanatics. Do you use words like ZA, QI, and XI? Well, you should!

    D: I say it was D in the kitchen with the lead pipe!

    Bitsy: I solemnly swear that I never threw any tantrums. Not even that one time on that raft in Disneyworld, nope, wasn’t me…

    Tyrone: Let’s play Clue some time!

    Kelly: Mmm Pictionary is a blast! And not cause I do okay with the drawings. It is just fun to misinterpret other people’s work.

    tgjason: Aw, yea! I could use more thoughts on the game mechanics. Monopoly is the sort of game that never really ends. Meh. Though I do appreciate a lot of its flavor, being from the Atlantic City area and all.

    Paul

    April 3, 2008 at 8:40 pm

  10. […] a comment » So, yeah, that card game I’ve been working on for over two years, unofficially called Paranormal Activity, is going […]


Leave a Reply

