MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#318 – Marlton Trip

with 9 comments

Shut your mouths, you know you like to put on silly hats in stores just as much.

So I had, yet again, another disturbing dream last night. It has thrown me for a ride, to say the least. It’s not one of my recurring ones (those involve someone shooting me in the stomach), but it does feature the recurring giant-man in it that doesn’t like to speak and would rather spend his time staring me down until I am nothing more than a shriveled piece of pale flesh.

In the dream, the featureless figure is already in my apartment, standing in the corner by my bookshelf, watching me, slowly inching his way towards my bed. Me, in the dream, knows all of this. I also, somehow, know that I’m dreaming because I’m thinking these thoughts: Ai! Wake up! Wake wake wake wake wake uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuup!

Alas, I do not wake up immediately. No, the figure shuffles closer, his hand outstretched as if to pluck my very heart from my heaving chest, and I begin with the sputtering. It feels as if my lips are made of lead, and I can barely get a word out. G-g-g-g-g-g, I go. Finally, when I do get the whole thing out, that’s the moment I wake up. I recall the word I was so desperately trying to force out as gwah. Whatever that is. Time on the clock? 5:46 A.M. Greeeeeeeeeat.

Feck a healthy breakfast this morning. I woke up later than usual, I’m feeling creeped out, and I’m going to enjoy the blazes out of a toasted bagel with buttah.

Gwah. Happy Monday.

Written by Paul

March 31, 2008 at 8:47 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Last night I dreamed that Penny and I were flying a bi-plane. It was weird. It had a starter like a lawn mower. Hopefully today goes better than last night!

    Pamalamadingdong

    March 31, 2008 at 8:54 am

  2. Oh em gee! I want to be in your dreams, Pam!

    When did Penny get her pilot’s license though?

    Paul

    March 31, 2008 at 9:48 am

  3. Funny, last night I dreamed I went some apartment and sucked the heart out of this guy and put it on a piece of nice ciabatta bread. Toasted of course. Mmm. Mmm. Mmm.

    Seriously, my nightmares may begin tonight. The in-laws are in town with their rapist dog (that’s “rapist” as in rape, not rap – long story). My weekend was, well, way too short. I put in a full 10 hours at work (no lunch) and the Riverside was nice, but I was way too tired to enjoy it as much as I should have.

    And expect a new button from work soon.

    TK42ONE

    March 31, 2008 at 10:35 am

  4. Is that mud on my shirt?

    D

    March 31, 2008 at 11:18 am

  5. TK: You know, having a dog that raps isn’t too uncommon. Think Snoop or Lil Bow Wow. A rapist dog, on the other hand, that’s a bit scary…

    D: No, bloooood. We’re, um, zombies, you see…

    Paul

    March 31, 2008 at 11:21 am

  6. ARGH! I forgot to comment on the zombies in panel 3! ZOMG! Way cool. Bring them back for more!

    TK42ONE

    March 31, 2008 at 12:08 pm

  7. Ooooooh…thanks for explaining panel 3.

    And yes, I most definitely like to put on silly hats in stores. My sister used her cell to take a pic of me trying on one of those furry earflappy hats. It’s almost as CUTE as your green bowler.

    I had weird dreams last night about my nephews. And that’s about all I remember of it.

    Hope you have sweet dreams tonight!

    Trina

    March 31, 2008 at 12:46 pm

  8. Trina: I shall let you slide this time, but no more using that c-word! Do you ever have dreams about diving and scary fishies?

    Paul

    March 31, 2008 at 2:25 pm

  9. I have very few dreams about scuba diving…strange, you’d think I’d have more. None of them were scary though.

    My scary dreams are similar to yours: some dark, faceless evil figure looking for me and I’m trying to hide under my bed or in a closet or something. Telling myself it’s just a dream and then forcing myself to wake up used to work. Now, I tell myself to wake up, think I’m awake but I’m actually dreaming that I’m only awake. It’s all very confusing. Fortunately, I haven’t had one of those dreams in months, maybe a year.

    Trina

    March 31, 2008 at 3:12 pm


Leave a Reply

