MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#316 – The Sock Mop

with 12 comments

Every member of the male species does this. It’s written beneath our skin, a code of sorts. Also, if you listen hard enough you can hear the sound of something being mopped up with a sock somewhere. Fascinating!

Now, I didn’t mean to do this, but I ended up watching four and a half minutes of American Idol last night. Gack! I’m already dry-heaving just thinking about it. But how, Paul, you ask, did such a travesty happen? Well, I was flipping through the channels when I stumbled upon a commercial for the next season of Hell’s Kitchen (one of the few reality shows that I absolutely love). So I stopped to watch it and then as soon as it was over I was being spoon-fed some bullshit about buying songs from iTunes from AI contestants THAT HAVEN’T EVEN WON YET. Seriously, what is that? Thankfully, I stopped having a seizure and was able to hit the power button before any more damage could be done.

Please, someone, anyone, forgive my sins.

And let our legs just run, no concept of distance
And all these rules we’ve learned could make no difference
There’s so much to do or say without repeating
And it’s the subtle laugh that will keep ringing
And what was overlooked could now have meaning
There’s so much to do or say without repeating
So why don’t we?

– “Light House” by Maria Taylor

Written by Paul

March 27, 2008 at 8:41 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You need a swiffer.

    Tyrone

    March 27, 2008 at 9:43 am

  2. Isn’t there a towel hanging on the fridge handle in the picture?

    Bitsy

    March 27, 2008 at 9:51 am

  3. PS I watched American Idol last night and was SEIZURE FREE! It was a good time!

    Bitsy

    March 27, 2008 at 9:52 am

  4. Tyrone: NEVER!

    Bitsy: My sock was closer than the towel. Are you excited for Chef Ramsey???

    Paul

    March 27, 2008 at 9:58 am

  5. Aargh, no! That is just one more show to watch!!!!
    I’ve got Idol, Dancing w/ the Stars, Bachelor, Oprah’s Big Give, Dexter, Eli Stone, Survivor, and Biggest Loser. My evenings are depressingly jam-packed!

    Bitsy

    March 27, 2008 at 10:31 am

  6. P – Don’t be so dramatic about AI. You would actually like a few of the contestants like Michael Johns, David Cooke, and Brooke White.

    D

    March 27, 2008 at 11:56 am

  7. This strip is hilarious. I have to confess that I too have been known to pull a couple lazy stunts like this as well, though I’ll agree it’s mostly a “man disease”.

    As for American Idol, without insulting anyone (too late?) I can’t even believe the show is still on. It’s sooooo bad. Then again, I’ve been actively watching, and laughing hysterically at Rock of Love II, so glass houses and stones and all I should probably keep my mouth shut. I guess in my head there is this fine line that somehow watching Rock of Love is okay because I know it is ridiculous and make fun of it and don’t take it seriously, while some fans of American Idol seem to be deadly serious about it…curing cancer level serious… 🙂

    1979semifinalist

    March 27, 2008 at 12:33 pm

  8. Watching Idol is as comfortable as wearing wet underwear.

    Ever made a cup with your hands and had a drink from the kitchen faucet? Used to do it all the time when I wanted to be “polite” and not just stick my mouth under it.

    And you’re wearing a green shirt. Again.

    TK42ONE

    March 27, 2008 at 12:42 pm

  9. Chef Ramsey is my hero. Dinner time viewing is BBC America “Ramsey’s Kitchen Nightmares”. Here…watch this to get the dirt on “real” soap.

    Pamalamadingdong

    March 27, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  10. D: Who is the British chick with tattoos?

    Kelly: You know, I find it funny how even more ridiculous Rock of Love II is over Rock of Love I. I mean, I love when the young girls complain that some of their competition is too old. Yet…those women are the same age as Poison’s lead singer. Sigh. Morons.

    Um, hold on. I need to do something:

    FLAVOR FLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAV!

    Much better.

    TK: Green is my favorite color. But tell you what, name a color. I’ll wear it in the next strip even if it isn’t factual.

    PAM: Eee! New Battlestar G and new Ramsey! Television is finally back to being watchable!

    Paul

    March 27, 2008 at 2:08 pm

  11. Umm, blue and white plaid because that’s what I’m wearing now. I’ve noticed that I tend to lean towards blue (because it matches my eyes) and plaids (I guess it’s an inner-cowboy trying to come out or something).

    TK42ONE

    March 27, 2008 at 4:57 pm

  12. You got it, cowboy!

    Paul

    March 27, 2008 at 9:24 pm


Leave a Reply

