MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#298 – Fortunes in Bed

with 13 comments

It’s a fun game to play. Try it the next time you’re having some lo mein. I promise you’ll get very interesting results.

So, I made the mistake of starting to watch No Country for Old Men at 11:30 last night. Pam and Tommy gave it praise, which was more than enough to get my attention. Besides, I’ve been reading nothing but good things about the film since it’s come out. I headed to my favorite illegal site for viewing TV shows and movies (hint: it rhymes with Lurf the Mammal) and started to watch. And I was hooked within five minutes. By the time it was over, around two in the morning, I was so freaked out by the film and its outcome that I crawled into bed and stared at the ceiling for awhile. In case you don’t know, that means I loved it. Maybe more later when I am not so much a zombie…

This is how it works
You’re young until you’re not
You love until you don’t
You try until you can’t
You laugh until you cry
You cry until you laugh
And everyone must breathe
Until their dying breath

– “On the Radio” by Regina Spektor

Written by Paul

March 3, 2008 at 9:38 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is the site called Surf the Camel? I saw it won heaps of awards, the movie (not the website!).I feel like I am running on empty today. Tired, tired, tired…

    Bitsy

    March 3, 2008 at 9:59 am

  2. Ohh, so close. Guess again.

    Did you ever see Fargo? It’s sort of like that, very cat-and-mouse, but with less snow and more Western scenes.

    Paul

    March 3, 2008 at 10:14 am

  3. Fargo was an incredible movie. Those scenes of violence stood out in such contrast to the laid back style of the other characters, especially the Chief of Police. She was awesome.

    Trina

    March 3, 2008 at 10:30 am

  4. Aw, pregnant Marge! She’s a sweetheart.

    Paul

    March 3, 2008 at 11:05 am

  5. Ah, the old “in bed” fortune cookie game. Good times.

    Glad you loved No Country For Old Men – such a good movie.

    1979semifinalist

    March 3, 2008 at 11:06 am

  6. You are not old enough to know about “in bed” & I think the corruption that goes on is awful (Lisa!).

    Tyrone (again)

    March 3, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  7. Aw, but Tyrone! You introduced me to Lisa. See what’s she done to moi?

    Paul

    March 3, 2008 at 2:06 pm

  8. It’s good to know that I have such a positive effect on people! And Tyrone… need I mention ____ beads?

    Lisa

    March 3, 2008 at 6:47 pm

  9. Ooh- almost forgot to submit one of my favorites…

    You will always be surrounded by friends… in bed.

    Alternately, you could also try “between the sheets.” Give it a whirl!

    Lisa

    March 3, 2008 at 6:50 pm

  10. Heh, that’s a classic one. Tyrone is totally frontin’. He says he’s part of the Youth Group, but I know the truth. He is a she, and she is the most foul-mouthed of us all. πŸ˜›

    Paul

    March 3, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  11. Beads? In bed? Man, where was I?

    You know, you could play the same game with movie titles.

    No Country For Old Men In Bed [that’s what my wife says all the time]
    Jaws In Bed [my worst nightmare]
    La Vie en Rose au Lit [one of those risky French movies]
    Away from Her In Bed [I’ll keep the rest of my smarmy comments to myself]
    Michael Clayton In Bed
    Charlie Wilson’s War In Bed
    The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert For In Bed
    There Will Be Blood In Bed

    Some Academy Award music might work too.
    So Close in Bed
    Raise It Up in Bed
    Happy Working Song in Bed

    And I’ll leave it there.

    TK42ONE

    March 4, 2008 at 10:28 am

  12. Ha, those movie titles really take on a whole new meaning! Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring: Extended Edition IN BED. πŸ˜›

    Paul

    March 4, 2008 at 11:01 am

  13. The Sound of Music in Bed
    The Secret in Bed
    Pinocchio in Bed
    Feeling Minnesota in Bed

    Lisa

    March 4, 2008 at 6:30 pm


Leave a Reply

