MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#287 – Be Mine, Pal

with 13 comments

Don’t worry. Ashley turned out to be a bitch snob.

It’s not that I’m a bitter soul when it comes to the fourteenth day of February. It’s just that I feel it is an unnecessary “holiday” constructed to make those in love feel guilty about how they show it and for those not in love it just sits them down in a nice, cold puddle and pees on them for twenty hours or so. Yup, just like that.

Lastly, here’s a link PAMALAMADINGDONG sent me for a site built on remembering/honoring dead relationships:

http://www.relationshipobit.com/

Someone give me some chocolate. Preferably, dark.

Written by Paul

February 14, 2008 at 9:37 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hate working in a big office and watching the steady stream of roses coming in as proof of love. I feel that love is proved everyday…when he still kisses you after you’ve eaten blue cheese, when he takes the dog out in 17° weather because you’re already snuggled in bed, and when he stops you in mid-freakout to give you a hug.

    I always keep a box of foreplay in the house (ie, dark chocolate). Our big Valentine’s Day…we’re getting Chinese food. We were going to anyway.

    Pamalamadingdong

    February 14, 2008 at 9:55 am

  2. BTW…Happy Valentine’s Day. You’re loved.

    Pamalamadingdong

    February 14, 2008 at 10:03 am

  3. I agree with Pam! Luckily, I work in a little office, so my officemate & I don’t have to watch the BS come streaming through all day. Blech!

    Having said that…

    My husband sent me a Hoops & YoYo E-Card for Valentine’s Day (I’m all about some H & Y.) Funny stuff and quite appropriate: they said that I was “sweet as puppy paws”! Awww, how sweet is that?

    Happy VD everyone!

    Trina

    February 14, 2008 at 10:06 am

  4. I think Trina and Paul sum it up nicely. Hope you have a happy VD while I pee on you.

    I thoroughly hated Valentine’s Day as a kid. You see, I was like Charlie Brown in school. No, not bald, just unlucky with the ladies. Always giving cards and never getting them. Always pining after girls and never getting any. Sure, my luck changed when someone said yes to my proposal, but now that guilt part factors in.

    Neil, you should buy flowers.
    Neil, you should buy roses.
    Neil, you should buy chocolate.
    Neil, you should buy jewelry.

    Piss on that. I’ll get a card and give my wife a hug and kiss. And if she lets me, we can snuggle in bed. Naked. But the only thing that makes that different than any other weekend is the card.

    TK42ONE

    February 14, 2008 at 10:14 am

  5. it’s all about how you look at it. PAL could mean “pussy after lunch”. 😀

    aniche

    February 14, 2008 at 10:17 am

  6. PAM: Aw, Chinese food! Yay! Hope you two have a nice night in. And yes, love is still being close to someone after they’ve eaten enough garlic to melt metal.

    Trina: I like puppy paws! That’s good stuff.

    TK: Funny, I just changed my Peanuts desk calender and read the strip where Snoopy is in the trench, writing home, complaining that he got no Valentine cards today. Aw, so sad. But yup, I agree with you wholeheartedly otherwise.

    Aniche: Naaah, she just didn’t know how to spell my name.

    Paul

    February 14, 2008 at 10:27 am

  7. look on the brightside, it’s possible Ashley was not only a bitchy snob, but also just plain stupid. The girl may not have known how to spell. It’s not like PAL is a common (any?) name…maybe that’s just how the girl thinks you spelll Paul? Either way you’re better off right?

    I love that you went back in time to do your V-Day strip. I’m going to have to remember this and steal it for next year…cause I’ve got some good “old timey” valentine’s stories, even if I dont’ have so many from being an adult…

    1979semifinalist

    February 14, 2008 at 10:28 am

  8. Kelly: My new motto is “If a girl can’t spell, then she can go to Heck.” Hah. I made myself laugh. Going back in time seemed like a more interesting comic than what my actual day today would be like…

    Paul

    February 14, 2008 at 10:42 am

  9. Aww PAL! Happy V-Day! I just heart Professor Layton. I played until I fell into a coma. Let’s talk lata!

    Bitsy

    February 14, 2008 at 11:20 am

  10. Ohhh I played last night until my eyes burned! The mathy puzzles really made me feel dumb though. I used all my hint coins and had my whatever-they-are-called lowered to the lowest point and still had trouble. I couldn’t even do the one about the digital clock, ugh.

    Call me after 9 PM, my time. NO WAIT. DON’T. LOST is on tonight. We’ll have to chat laters, tater.

    Paul

    February 14, 2008 at 11:45 am

  11. I like the ones with the matchsticks. Don’t use all your hint coins – they aren’t unlimited!

    Bitsy

    February 14, 2008 at 12:02 pm

  12. I like being a teacher because I get DOZENS of valentines and they love me!!! Hey, I’ll take it where I can get it.

    Lisa

    February 14, 2008 at 7:35 pm

  13. Lisa, little kids love you like they love Pokemon! Have fun in Florida, if you already haven’t left…

    Paul

    February 15, 2008 at 9:38 am


Leave a Reply

