MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#278 – Arizona Vacation, Part Eight

with 10 comments

Yum. I mean…yuck. This was, if I can remember correctly, the first time anything like this has happened to me. I’m not one for drama, and if I’d been alone I would’ve probably just kept on eating and not said a thing to the fine staff at The Yard House, but Momma Dukes took charge and we got the entire salmon dish taken off the bill. W00t! Unfortunately, now I can eat salmon without thinking about staples. Yes, I’m somewhat damaged goods.

QUESTION: What’s the weirdest non-food thing you’ve ever found in a meal?

Written by Paul

February 1, 2008 at 9:38 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. James really did get a fly in his soup. I was a witness. It was cooked and stuck in the cheese on edge of his bowl…although technically you could eat it. Not like a staple.

    Pamalamadingdong

    February 1, 2008 at 9:53 am

  2. Mmmm cheesy fly. That doesn’t sound…too terrible. For about half a minute, I thought the box staple was a bone. Then I remembered I’m an idiot.

    OH! And I forgot to ask everyone about their weekend plans? I’m going to a sleepover party in PA. We’re going to do each other’s nails and talk about boys. Jealous? Yes, yes you are.

    Paul

    February 1, 2008 at 10:03 am

  3. Nope-no weird non-food stuff in our food. Not even when we ate in one of the little border towns of Mexico last weekend.

    And you’ll never guess what we’re doing this weekend-never-so don’t even try.

    We’re going diving.

    At the same site where we saw the Loggerhead. Would be nice to see another one. What I really want to see is an octopus. We’ve seen one in the waters off of N Carolina, but he was tucked way back in his hidey-hole, so I didn’t get a real good look at him.

    Trina

    February 1, 2008 at 10:53 am

  4. Well – I worked in a restaurant for years. Plastic from a bag, flies, chewed gum, hair, a beetle, a wood chip. yup. lots of stuff in your food, people.

    Trina – the diving sounds scary. Do you know there are ANIMALS in the h20? I am such a ninny I’d only scuba in a swimming pool!

    This weekend I am going to Orlando for a conference. I heart disney and 80 degree weather.

    Biff, you should think about pastels – spring is coming ( I hope that Damn Groundhog doesn’t see his shadow!)

    Bitsy

    February 1, 2008 at 11:07 am

  5. But Bitsy, that’s EXACTLY why I go diving-to see all of the critters that lurk in the depths.

    Sadly, I just got a call from my hubby that tomorrow’s dive has been canceled.

    Have fun in FL-we have plans to dive out of Key Largo in June-can’t wait!

    Trina

    February 1, 2008 at 11:44 am

  6. I once found a rock in my LoMein.

    Pamalamadingdong

    February 1, 2008 at 2:39 pm

  7. Trina: I’m all about the underwater critters…so long as I can watch them safely on my couch. Heh. But here’s to hoping you see an octopus. Are they ever aggressive towards people?

    Bitsy: You’ve see it all! Now you can add a box staple to your list too. Have fun flying, DSing, and conferencing. Don’t go too wild in the Magic Kingdom.

    PAM: What a quick way to ruin some lomein!

    Paul

    February 1, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  8. Shotgun pellets. Not one, but three of them. Neatly tucked away in my cheeseburger. Found them halfway through eating it. And it was in the Phoenix area too. One of those uppity restaurants (at the time, it’s been decades since). I was young enough to not care much, I just wanted my burger!

    TK42ONE

    February 1, 2008 at 3:40 pm

  9. While chewing on my onion bagel, pulled the tip of a fingernail from my mouth. NOT mine!!!

    I’m going to play games galore this weekend and maybe watch Stardust, if everyone wants.

    Lisa

    February 1, 2008 at 7:46 pm

  10. TK: Mmm shotgun pellets. Crunchy! Much like how you wanted your burger, I too just wanted my salmon. The staple wasn’t enough to stop me from finishing it.

    Lisa: UCK! Now that’s freaky! I’ll watch Stardust, duh. I am a Gaiman whore after all.

    Paul

    February 2, 2008 at 10:41 am


Leave a Reply

