MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#277 – Arizona Vacation, Part Seven

with 10 comments

I actually got the radio station wrong. It is 103.9, and here’s the list of all the albums they played nonstop, back to back. I only have a problem with Linkin Park being in the top final ten, but otherwise the list is good and mighty. Many a favorite, and there’s some that I remember buying on cassette and listening to over and over and over (Nirvana’s Nevermind, The Offspring’s Smash, Rancid’s And Out Come the Wolves). Others I still own on CD and cherish them mightily (Beck’s Odelay, Jimmy Eat World’s Bleed American, Weezer’s Blue Album, Rage Against the Machine’s Evil Empire).

I always find it both funny and amazing how powerful music can be. Hearing some of these albums instantly triggered reactions in me. I remembered sneaking drinks from the bottle of rum I hid in my sock drawer while in high school as I danced around my bedroom to Bush’s “Machinehead”. I remembered seeing Live and the Counting Crows with Bitsy in concert, especially at the end when the two bands came out as one to do a special finale song that had them each departing as individuals. I remembered the first time I listened to Radiohead’s “Fake Plastic Trees” and just being stunned by how evocative and new it sounded. I remembered falling in love with Soul Asylum, enough so that I went out and bought every tape they had and even did one final project on them for my English class.

I always find it funny when people say things such as “Oh, I love music!”

Yeah. How couldn’t you?

I wonder what things I’ll remember about the music I’m currently listening to in, oh, I dunno, ten years. Will it be the same, or is nostalgia only meant for the times before one became an adult and had too much to worry about? I can’t really see myself looking back fondly right now. Despite listening to the latest album (double!) from Say Anything.

BONUS PART: Can you name the bands and three songs in the comic? Don’t cheat!

Written by Paul

January 31, 2008 at 12:59 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a music retard, but I still love it. I think one of the bands is REM.

    D

    January 31, 2008 at 8:51 am

  2. and one of the bands is the Counting Crows. Also saw Live in concert many moons ago. They were excellent.

    Trina

    January 31, 2008 at 9:51 am

  3. D: You’d be wrong guessing REM.

    Trina: You’d be right, one of the songs above is by the Counting Crows. Seeing Live live (ugh) is good stuff.

    Paul

    January 31, 2008 at 10:54 am

  4. I’m not even going to try to guess…as I’m crap at remembering lyrics…Adam is the master though. I’ll tell him to stop by and give it a shot.

    I love the nostalgia of listening to old music I used to love and all the memories that come with it, what I hate is when ex’s begin to own music I used to love…I can’t really listen to certain songs, sometimes even whole albums because the memories are so intensely tied to old relationships of mine…apparently ones that ended badly 🙂 I wrote a poem about this idea once…it wasn’t a good poem.

    1979semifinalist

    January 31, 2008 at 11:07 am

  5. Yeah, curse those old relationships for ruining music. The only real band I can’t listen to too much anymore of out of sheer annoyance is the Dave Matthews Band.

    How about you? Which ones were stolen away?

    Paul

    January 31, 2008 at 12:04 pm

  6. Albums that were stolen? Jimmy Eat World’s Bleed American, Jack Johnson’s On & On. Soul Coughing’s El Oso and Irresistible Bliss came close, but I think I’ve rescued them. Not that it’s a huge huge loss but I can’t really listen to DMX anymore and a variety of other rap-ish stuff like Everlast. More importantly I can’t listen to Hotel California and many other beloved classics. So sad.

    1979semifinalist

    January 31, 2008 at 12:39 pm

  7. You know you’re truly over a relationship when you can listen to your old albums. “Peace and Love” by Fountains of Wayne is my song and nobody can steal it from me! Not one of the deepest songs but it’s mine dammit!

    Pamalamadingdong

    January 31, 2008 at 2:05 pm

  8. But unfortunately “Time in a Bottle” might be lost forever…

    Pamalamadingdong

    January 31, 2008 at 2:33 pm

  9. Kelly: Ohhh, love me some Soul Coughing. The dude’s new solo work ain’t half bad either. I don’t think you’re missing too much on the DMX, but I remember being pleasantly surprised by Everlast’s sound.

    PAM: I drive by the Fountains of Wayne all the time! Right down the road!

    Paul

    January 31, 2008 at 2:44 pm

  10. If D is a music retard, then I’m a music ….. well ….. whatever’s worse than that.

    And speaking of Phoenix (that’s pronounced FOE-e-nix), my Dad just got back from there. Said he saw golf carts doing nearly 40 mph down the road. Whatever happened to good old days of the brown Caddies with dark tint going 25 in a 55?

    TK42ONE

    January 31, 2008 at 10:58 pm


Leave a Reply

