MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

Lucky Abby: My First Comic Strip

with 13 comments

I’ve always liked drawing. My family can attest to this as they watched me draw cartoons and comics from a wee age all the way up until now. We’re not going to count that four-year grace period in college where I hated art and all things art-related. I found it only natural to read comics in the Sunday newspaper or my big collective trade paperbacks from the store (think The Far Side, Foxtrot, Dilbert, those kinds). I then found it even more natural to want to draw my own. And so I did. Meet Lucky Abby

If you notice a distinct similarity to a certain comic strip by Bill Watterson called Calvin and Hobbes…well, you’re correct for noticing. That one is, and forever shall be, a favorite of mine. Plus, there’s no better way to show respect than through imitation. Calvin had an imaginary talking tiger; Abby had an imaginary talking dragon. Meh. These were drawn in 1998, making me…uhm…fifteen. I did what I could.

One thing I hope you’ll see is that…I DRAW THE SAME WAY NOW. That’s right, people. Stop waiting for me to improve. It ain’t gonna happen! Anyways, Lucky Abby went on like this for a couple more strips, bouncing back and forth from jokes already told by Watterson. In a hissy-fit, I destroyed the remaining ones.

The above comic is actually the one I still like the most to this day. Growing up, I had a best friend that every summer left for Ohio. Things got boring real fast, and I believe I captured that well enough with pictures.

I like snow. It was easy to draw. Kathy is named after my godmother. I sure was creative back then.

Hah, I’m almost embarrassed posting these! They are such ripoffs of the best strip in the world! But I guess if I let everyone know I’m just a hack I can move past this and not have skeletons in me closet. Also, Derron? Derron?!

Then, about three years later, I decided to try Lucky Abby again. This time, I went for a different style and more talky humor:

Ignore the speech bubbles in the last panel. They are completely out of order. The mother character is saying goodbye before Abby’s sister tells her she is leaving. Oi. What a n00b.

This one didn’t last long. Also, Abby’s sister’s name changed from Julie to Rinoa and I have NO IDEA WHY. I might’ve been drunk when I drew that. I got tired of forcing the strip and moved on to other things. But next time I’ll show you how Lucky Abby eventually became a comic strip about a talking duck with aspirations of becoming a world-famous magician. I kid thee not!

So go ahead. Call me a hack!

Written by Paul

January 28, 2008 at 9:53 am

Posted in artwork, comics, Lucky Abby

Tagged with

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For a while, I thought Abby was a little girl… As I have NEVER heard of a boy called Abby.

    I forgive you for ripping off comic classics… Just don’t do it again.

    Jamie

    January 28, 2008 at 10:39 am

  2. I grew up with the nickname of Abby. It stemmed from my last name: Abbamondi. But yeah, mostly girls get the name. Yay, I’m original!

    Paul

    January 28, 2008 at 10:49 am

  3. Wow – I was that mall crazy? You little liar. I am telling Mom!

    Bitsy

    January 28, 2008 at 11:01 am

  4. Nah. I was just stereotyping all teenage girls at the time!

    Paul

    January 28, 2008 at 11:04 am

  5. this is great. good for you for holding onto this stuff…i always end up tearing up all my old stuff because i can’t stand how bad it all is/was. great to see it though, so i’m glad you held onto it.

    1979semifinalist

    January 28, 2008 at 11:09 am

  6. Well, I didn’t hold on to everything. Which is a shame. But yeah, I am glad I can sort of look back on this. Might be even weirder though when I’m like fifty-eight, no longer wearing pants, and still drawing comics to see what sort of drivel I was producing as a boy.

    Paul

    January 28, 2008 at 11:44 am

  7. What are you planning on wearing on your nether regions after the age off 57?

    Pamalamadingdong

    January 28, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  8. I hope to be as carefree as a bird and just wandering around in my elvin princess boxers, muttering about the fall of mankind. I feel sorry for anyone that shall gaze upon me!

    Paul

    January 28, 2008 at 2:05 pm

  9. Is it sad that I like these better than the new ones? Seriously though, it’s nice to see where the artist had his roots. Explains a bit.

    TK42ONE

    January 28, 2008 at 6:55 pm

  10. Well, so long as you like something you can feel as you feel. I have more old comics though that I’ll post some time in the future. Then you’ll really see where I came from…

    Paul

    January 28, 2008 at 9:16 pm

  11. I declare you were playing too much FFVIII when you changed her name to Rinoa, if you catch my drift.

    tgjason

    January 30, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  12. Holy shit! I declare you’re right. That’d be about the time, too, around 2001. Wow. I guess that game really affected me…

    Paul

    January 31, 2008 at 12:40 am

  13. […] through my old collectives. Those one-panel gags, so great and funny and thought-provoking…well, you saw what happened when I fell in love with Calvin and Hobbes, remember? Here’s what came out of my 16-year-old head at the time, a bunch of gags under the brand name […]


Leave a Reply

