MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#262 – Game Sucks

with 12 comments

The videogame in question is Lord of the Rings: The Third Age, which, by any straight-minded person’s standards, is not a great game. But that is not the point. I am the customer, I make the decisions, and the employee merely needs to ring me up. I mean, this sort of thing wouldn’t happen at a restaurant:

Customer: I’ll have the soy mince, aubergine, and black bean chilli.
Waiter: Oh, you don’t want that. That dish sucks.

So why is this allowed in GameStop then? Well, they seem nearly determined to hire the youth of America and give them free run of the shop at times. But this shouldn’t be! They need to be taught that the customer is always right! I had to learn that long ago, back when I peddled ice cream cones to mean, old ladies that complained about the price between one scoop of butter pecan and two scoops. No matter what, they were right. Who cares if I thought rum raisin tasted like leftover sewage? It was not my place to say.

In closing, I hate GameStop still. Yet I continue to shop there…

Written by Paul

January 8, 2008 at 9:39 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s up with that little kid?!

    Bitsy

    January 8, 2008 at 9:48 am

  2. He’s a kid. Videogame stores make them go wonkers.

    Paul

    January 8, 2008 at 9:49 am

  3. I never heard of the game. Play Lord Of the Rings: Battle For Middle Earth 2 instead.

    [D]ark[A]gent

    January 8, 2008 at 10:29 am

  4. Why are all the games we see for the DS? No love for the Wii? And nice use of the “foodwhore” tag again. Bet you can’t use it everyday this week!

    TK42ONE

    January 8, 2008 at 10:48 am

  5. I totally agree. The “unsolicited advice” is horrible. Even more horrible however is when a customer asks your advice like say, when you work in a video store off an on throughout highschool and college. They never like what you have to say and they always just end up doing what they want anyway.

    Customer: Is this movie (customer holding Practical Magic) any good?

    Me: Practcial Magic? Actually that movie is pretty terrible…I would suggest something else instead.

    Customer: Really? Well I really think Sandra Bullock is the best, so I’m going to get it anyway…ring me up now please.

    So why do they bother asking me in the first place!?! OY!

    1979semifinalist

    January 8, 2008 at 10:51 am

  6. DarkAgent: I’ve always wanted to try that one, as I love StarCraft and other strat games, but my computer could never run it. Snartleblast.

    TK: Well, I don’t own a Wii. I love my DS so it gets all my attention. 😛 And I’m using foodwhore tomorrow as well. Hah!

    Kelly: Yes, unsolicited advice! I was trying to think of what to call it, but you got it there. Not needed, not wanted. Just let me buy and go, I say! So, did you used to work at a video store?

    Paul

    January 8, 2008 at 11:13 am

  7. I did. I worked in one the summer after highschool and then came back to it while on summer break from college. Then I worked in one again when I was going to art school in Savannah. I worked at that one for almost three years I think, although it changed names about three times while I was there…crazy.

    Working in a video store, hmmm. I wouldn’t go back and undo it as I had some great times, but man was it frustrating too. I know I don’t have the patience for it now.

    1979semifinalist

    January 8, 2008 at 11:34 am

  8. hey – I just got a DS for christmas – it’s awesome! although according to “brain age 2” i’m practically brain dead…

    1979semifinalist

    January 8, 2008 at 11:35 am

  9. Oh oh oh what color did you get?? Momma Dukes just bought Brain Age 2 as well. Not sure what her score is though…

    Paul

    January 8, 2008 at 11:56 am

  10. well i got white…not my choice but apparently it was the only color around…likely story.

    i have brain age 2, flash focus, and a word game that is awesome that i forget the name of (clearly the brain training is not working) and also a Sims game that i haven’t tried yet. all the “brain games” are good though…although bad for my self esteem. i think my eye age is listed at 40 or something ridiculous and i’m not kidding about my brain age…it’s really sad. the DS is awesome though…i just love the interface…and that it goes everywhere is so great.

    1979semifinalist

    January 8, 2008 at 1:09 pm

  11. I once got told that in a hairdressers salon… I listened to the woman though because she was right. I pretty much didn’t want a giant blue perm, I just wanted to see my Mum’s face when I asked for one.

    leafprobably

    January 8, 2008 at 6:33 pm

  12. Ha, but perms are so back in style! You should order one for real. 😛

    Paul

    January 9, 2008 at 9:29 am


Leave a Reply

