MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#253 – Favorite Rum

with 7 comments

Part One, for those that missed it, is here. Pretty soon I’m not going to be able to go anywhere in this town without someone remembering me and my order. I think the Starbucks employees at my local Barnes & Noble are next to jump the gun and begin making my tall hot chocolate (with whipped cream!) before I even open my mouth.

If you’re a Pixar fanatic like myself, you’re definitely going to want to check out this definitive list of in-jokes and self-references found throughout each and every movie of theirs. Some I remember catching firsthand…others are a lot tougher to spot. Talk about attention to detail!

Written by Paul

December 12, 2007 at 9:37 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know, you kind of look like a bum in this comic. Like a rum-drinking bum. Would that make you a “rum bum?”

    TK

    TK42ONE

    December 12, 2007 at 10:08 am

  2. Oh Biff – Stay strong – it’s good to have a signature drink and even a signature sandwich!

    Bitsy

    December 12, 2007 at 10:12 am

  3. TK: I’m okay with being a rum bum. That’s a nifty term!

    Bitsy: No one will know what I want to order in AZ. I can’t wait!

    Paul

    December 12, 2007 at 10:27 am

  4. yeah, i kind of hate this. i know they do it to make you feel kind of important, but it’s a bit sad to be so predictable.

    my starbucks between home and work knows that i get a grande skim chai AND a lemon slice when i come in and they practically have it ready before i get to the front of the line. this is awesome service, except sometimes i don’t actually want the lemon slice (okay, i always want it. but sometimes decide i WON’T have it because i shouldn’t) but there is all ready to go. so i take it. *sigh*.

    the only truly comforting thing is that we know we aren’t (prepare yourself for a VERY dated film reference) Angela from “The Net”…even her neighbors didn’t know her, but if you disappear or someone steals your identity at least they’ll be able to take your picture around to the local eateries and coffee shops 🙂 they’ll be all, “yeah, that’s the rum guy…lives around here somewhere.”

    1979semifinalist

    December 12, 2007 at 10:40 am

  5. Mmm, now I want a lemon slice. But yeah, either they do it to make you feel important or make themselves feel important. Either way, it makes me feel a bit odd, as if I’m there buying sandwiches and rum eight days a week or something.

    Paul

    December 12, 2007 at 11:20 am

  6. The waitress (who also doubles as the bartender) at the diner that we go to EVERY Friday night always asks me first if I’m having red wine and the Luna Tuna. Because every once in a blue moon, I’ll have a nice cold Corona and if I’m feeling really crazy, I’ll order Veggie Quesadillas. But most times, it’s a glass of red and the Luna Tuna (a piece of grilled tuna over salad with pico de gallo and their signature honey mustard vinaigritte.)

    And my hubby always orders the same two sides with his dinner: corn and applesauce. And he always gets their homemade bread pudding for dessert.

    Hey, ya like what ya like. Nothing wrong with that.

    Trina

    December 12, 2007 at 12:00 pm

  7. I could tell you stories about my favorite eatery, but then I’d have to tell you where it is. And, well, I’m just not willing to share. It’s crowded enough as it is. Let’s just leave it at “it’s like Cheers, but for breakfast.”

    TK42ONE

    December 12, 2007 at 5:55 pm


Leave a Reply

