MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#226 – Grocery Bags

with 8 comments

Are you lazy, too?

So here’s the deal. November is the month where everyone gets motivated to write, and I plan on using all that motivation to…well, motivate myself. I’m not doing NaNoWriMo per say, but a lighter version of it. I already have a novel-in-the-works. My daily goal will be 500 words a day, plus working on other writing projects. Unfortunately, that means the comic is going to not be in color for a bit as doing so is very time-consuming. Still, you’ll get it five days a week, along with the occasional burst of 200 Sad Comics. Can’t beat that, right? Not with an ugly stick, I say!

But yeah…less drawing, more writing.

Written by Paul

November 1, 2007 at 8:35 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like me when I take the groceries in. I load up my left arm until it’s full or I can’t handle the weight. Then I grab two or three more in my right and head to the front door. Maybe if you use your arm you can save the hand?

    Now, before you respond, did you write your 500 words? Hmm?

    There’s my contribution to helping motivate you to WriMo.

    TK42ONE

    November 1, 2007 at 9:39 am

  2. Hmm…I’ll try to use my arms next time for sure. And no, I won’t get any writing done until tonight.

    Paul

    November 1, 2007 at 9:56 am

  3. I do the same thing – it must be genetic. You try writing 500 more words a day and I will try consuming 500 less calories a day – k? Go, Paulieeeee!

    Bitsy

    November 1, 2007 at 10:32 am

  4. It is genetic – If I can’t carry everything in one trip, I leave the non-perishables in the car for the next trip I take. And my hands and wrists have had the circulation cut off from the plastic bags digging in.

    D

    November 1, 2007 at 12:52 pm

  5. Hah, our family rules then. 😛

    Paul

    November 1, 2007 at 1:11 pm

  6. i used to do the same thing…but after about a year of it in new york (and a fifth floor walk up) i’ve started paying for delivery. i always feel terribly guilty making somebody else carry my stuff up the stairs though and to help assuage my guilt my tipping has become out of control. it still doesn’t make the guilt go away though.

    my new system = good for the hands and wrists, bad for the pocketbook and soul. not sure which is worse.

    1979semifinalist

    November 1, 2007 at 2:43 pm

  7. Hah, wow I didn’t even know you could pay people to deliver your groceries to you. I don’t have to climb steps so you got me beat there. If yah don’t mind my asking, what’s a tip look like for that kind of work? Is it the same as a pizza delivery fellow/chick?

    Paul

    November 1, 2007 at 4:34 pm

  8. well…like i said, i’m basically guilt tipping at this point. delivery is pretty common in NYC, they say it’s the city where you can get anything delivered…and it is sadly true. all the grocery stores near me offer it and it costs between $2 and $4. you are not actually required to tip, above the charge, but i always assume that charge doesn’t go to the poor schmucks who end up huffing it up four narrow flights with boxes and bags. so i tip the guy(s) (it has yet to be a woman) between $5 and $7, depending on how much there is to carry and how guilty i feel.

    i have started using Fresh Direct, which is pretty uncommon i guess everywhere except NYC, and that is 4.99 delivery charge and i almost always guilt tip those guys $7, mostly for the heavy boxes of soda my boyfriend orders.

    we appear to be horrible lazy new yorkers, that seem to think we’re rich even though we’re not. i don’t know how this happened…

    1979semifinalist

    November 1, 2007 at 5:12 pm


Leave a Reply

